We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champagne Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Champagne Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at Champagne Castle for three nights in December 2013 with our three year old. It was a lovely experience with lots to do for kids and adults.
My daughter loved the pony rides, the animals and the jumping castle.
We could leave our daughter with a wonderful babysitter when we wanted to go hiking in the mountains.
The food was excellent and we defnitely picked up some extra kilos!
The service was really good and friendly. We had a flat car battery and the hotel manager sorted us out within a few minutes of asking!
The only thing that would've been nice is if there was a baby/small pool for the kids. The pool was very deep, even at the shallow end, so difficult to swim with a toddler.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    225
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
291
341
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed two nights at this beautifully located hotel. The bedroom with a mountain view and bathroom with a separate shower, were spacious by any standards, well decorated and furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful, in particular finding us a suitable electric power adaptor when our 'universal plug' proved to be less than truly universal. The good size pool was clean and there was free efficient wi-fi in the lounge.
All meals are buffet style and the quantity and choice would suit all tastes. However, as with all buffets, it was impossible to keep food hot without drying it out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Champagne Castle Hotel was prefect for our little mountain getaway - WE LOVED IT..!!!

ROOM: We stayed in a Delux Mountain View room, beautifully appointed with a little balcony overlooking the pool area to our left and looking onto the majestic mountains in front of us. We loved the complimentary sherry in our room, but it would have been a nice touch to have it replenished every day.

LOCATION: What a perfect location for this hotel, with stunning mountain views, beautiful big trees and immaculate gardens! Best of all we loved the various walking trails leading from the hotel. We didn't get to try all of them and for that reason we would love to return one day.

FOOD: Diners were spoilt for choice with a delicious well set out buffet for every meal. There was a good range of dishes to satisfy every pallet. My husband and I ate far too much food, but it was so difficult to resist...!!

STAFF: Friendly and courteous at all times, greeting you as they pass, clearing our plates away in the dining room after you had eaten - we found the staff faultless.

Room Tip: Delux Mountain View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with another family (kids ages 12, 10, 8, 3) and had two self-catering units. Both were immaculate, comfortable and well appointed. The kids had fun with the monkeys - which were a constant presence. There are a ton of activities and the kids could roam for hours. They have a bunny farm, horses and an aviary - which the kids loved. It also makes a great base camp from which to explore the mountains. Our views were spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2kidsBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thank you for the 5 day relax! We had a deluxe family room which was a double story unit with kids in twin beds downstairs and we were upstairs with a very comfy king bed, 2 bathrooms and lots of space. The room was modern and well appointed and there were thoughtful items like umbrellas in the room for the unpredictable berg weather. There was a small carafe of sherry in the room on arrival but it wasn't replenished which would have been a nice touch.
The kids had a blast with a mountain (excuse the pun) of activities including horse riding which they tried for the first time and loved, fly fishing which they did for days, games room which they used daily, a terrific pool area, as well as many things we didn't even get a chance to try.
The new years eve party was a lot of fun and the whole family was welcome to join in, but sadly we didn't receive the email from the hotel advising us of the theme for the evening - as a masquerade ball it would have been nice to have our own masks but the hotel did sell some on the day. The decor in the dining room was outstanding as well as fun and the new years eve feast was terrific.
The food in general was very good and we ate like kings on the daily buffet.
The sign of a great stay - we didn't want to leave and booked again for 2014 - although we did book for the next time in a self catering unit as next year my kids will be charged as adults which we find a little pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesmarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the self catering units of the hotel. We have also previously stayed in the hotel on a number of occasions. Once again it did not disappoint. The unit we stayed in had lovely views of the mountain range with the small dam in front of the unit. It is also the only unit that is pet friendly. It sleeps a maximum of six, with two separate rooms and a further area upstairs with two single beds. The main room is en suite and there is also a bathroom downstairs. All the comforts of home are provided with good quality finishes and equipment in the kitchen. You can also eat in the hotel if you wish. A lovely spa is also available for pampering.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Absolutely delightful!!!!!

breathtaking views of the Drakensberg,,,,,fantastic location,,,,,,plenty of activities,,,,,stayed here with a wedding honeymoon (small group),,,,,,everything you could wish for,,,,5*****++++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniasroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.8 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
14.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
17.7 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
6.8 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Property: Champagne Castle Hotel
Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champagne Castle Hotel is nestled below the second highest peak in South Africa, Champagne Castle (3377m), part of the main escarpment within the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range, the highest mountain range in South Africa. Due to its diversity of plant, bird and insect life and the richest collection of San rock paintings in Africa, it has been declared a Mixed World Heritage Site. For visual impact, recreational variety and luxurious splendour, Champagne Castle Hotel is pretty close to being an ultimate experience. Your stay will be characterised by the proximity you gain to the most dramatic and immediate views of the Drakensberg Escarpment and the 'Barrier of Spears'. Whether you walk or hike, trout fish or horse ride, play golf or tennis, swim or bowl, everything here has been configured to embrace this unparalleled setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing