We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Champagne Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I returned here after 28 years and found the hotel even better than before. The public areas have been rebuilt and there is a lovely terrace overlooking the mountains and the magnificent view. The bar menu was excellent and drinks very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
There are newer reviews for Champagne Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 895 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a chalet, and it was a very special experience. The chalets were wonderful; spacious, clean and a magnificent view. There was floor heating and a fireplace. Very nice. It is a long way to get there but worth the journey. Dinner is in buffet style and was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This past weekend 26-28 July we went on a family getaway. Stunning location, delicious food, beautifully appointed accommodation, only our bed was a little old and lumpy and in need of replacement, otherwise cant fault this beautiful Hotel. Our children age 9 and 11 enjoyed it and did not want to return home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room, really great, 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was absolutely outstanding.
The 'room' was beautiful and decorated to a very high standard and scrupulously clean.
each of the two rooms were en suite. The main bedroom had a full bathroom. There was a balcony with comfortable outdoor furniture.
It was warm and comfortable, with extra little touches, like a small decanter of sherry and sherry glasses in the room to enjoy. There was a flask of chilled water.They do a turn down service and leave a chocolate on the pillow.
Afternoon tea and morning tea is included in the 'full board.' We were offered a delicious packed lunch for our onward journey, at no extra cost.
The common lounges were opulent and comfortable, blazing fires roared in the fireplaces and the ambiance was delightful. Free Wifi was available in the common lounge.
Plenty of activities are on offer: horseriding, hikes, bowls, tennis court, swimming pool, games room, life size chess, an animal farm.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A standard Room with Mountain views- far exceeded our expectations. They are double story and accomm...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I just got home from a weekend at Champagne Castle Hotel. Very sorry to leave!
We stayed in a huge room with a mountain view. All meals and teas were included, and what a spread! Service was very friendly. It must be one of the most beautiful settings in the world! If you drive around, even just for a short trip, there's so much to do! Thank you for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liesel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This venue offers the most stunning view. Each season in the area offers a unique feature and the hotel complex is in the centre of it all. It is surrounded by the Drakensberg mountain range - almost like a natural amphi-theatre. The chalets are of a very good standard with a snug fireplace and full service kitchen. The staff are awesome. The 18 golf course is a plus and if your game is not as good as you would like it is probably because you were taking in the view more than your game. The biggest attraction for me was the night sky - I have not seen as many stars ever. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having spent many family holidays at Champagne Castle as a child, it was super special to take our children (aged 10 + 12) to this stunning location. We stayed in a Family Deluxe unit which had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and an upstairs balcony. The room was well appointed with a King size bed (not 2 single beds pushed together!) and we had everything we needed. A small maintenance problem was attended to promptly and efficiently by reception and maintenance. The kids were entertained with an active holiday programme and we were fed copious amounts of food from the buffet, in between watching Wimbledon on a comfy couch in a lounge with a crackling fireplace. My expectation was that I wanted our children to experience what we had, and I was not disappointed. They had a blast! Thank you Champagne Castle. I am hoping my children will not take 30 years to return with their families:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicandEmmaJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
899 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
581 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
629 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
7.0 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 16 in Winterton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Address: R600 Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: $147 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champagne Castle Hotel is nestled below the second highest peak in South Africa, Champagne Castle (3377m), part of the main escarpment within the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range, the highest mountain range in South Africa. Due to its diversity of plant, bird and insect life and the richest collection of San rock paintings in Africa, it has been declared a Mixed World Heritage Site. For visual impact, recreational variety and luxurious splendour, Champagne Castle Hotel is pretty close to being an ultimate experience. Your stay will be characterised by the proximity you gain to the most dramatic and immediate views of the Drakensberg Escarpment and the 'Barrier of Spears'. Whether you walk or hike, trout fish or horse ride, play golf or tennis, swim or bowl, everything here has been configured to embrace this unparalleled setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing