We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Champagne Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have just returned from a relaxing stay with family. Reception on check in and check out was excellent - both staff (a gentleman on arrival and a lady on departure) managed to blend professionalism with friendliness. We had to go to reception 3 times during our stay, the same lady that helped us did not display the same level of service and in fact did not even smile (I don't know her name but she is on the left on photo #6 of 184 of your Man International Event on the FB page). On our second and fourth days, we reported a horrible smell emanating from the bathroom washbasin but this was not attended to. The food was excellent and the service from the dining-room staff was of a higher level than I've experienced before, but the food needs to be placed better for shorter guests. It was virtually impossible to reach the second level of hot dishes and both of us ladies had to either ask another guest for help or go without. The uninterrupted mountain view from our room was spectacular - definitely book a deluxe room if possible. The Wellness Centre provided lots of pampering and the walks are clearly marked and very pleasant. Just do not follow verbal advice regarding attractive detours or you might get lost and have a rather long walk back! I am just glad that we left before your Man International Event which I think degraded the image of the hotel. Just looking at your Facebook photos of men stripping down to their underwear is really not appropriate to the classy image your hotel portrays. I feel sorry for normal guests staying close to your conference centre.

Room Tip: The upper rooms in the deluxe block have uninterrupted views and either direct access to the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    256
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
317
378
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Champagne Castle hotel in our Mountain view room.
The food was great, there is a big buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I can not remember staying in any other hotel and not having one negative comment.
The bar is cosy with a fire place, the drinks are reasonably priced.
The hotel activities like horse riding is also very inexpensive and I went on a outride far up onto hills looking down on the hotel and surrounds.

We will definitely be back there before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Get a Mountain view room if you are staying in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

From walking in to reception to your room. Is an experience. The rooms are stunning and with a beautiful view over the grounds and the Drakensberg Mountains. The kitchen prepare stunning buffet breakfast and dinner. If the weather are please take a walk to the waterfall or go horse riding. Simple a weekend or holiday you will not forget. Thanks to the hotel staff and management for doing there best to make your stay the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andries_steyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Returning from the KZN coast we spent the weekend at this lovely hotel in the Drakensberg. The view from the hotel terasse is spectacular! We did a lot of hiking. The buffet meals are very delicious. One can do a lot of activities around this area of the Berg. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at Champagne Castle with my husband in April for 3 nights. We found the staff to be friendly, the natural surroundings absolutely stunning, the room to be spacious and clean and the food was tasty with plenty of variety.

This is a family hotel so there is something for everyone. We enjoyed the spa treatments, however book early - especially on rainy days. The sunset horse ride is a lovely experience. The hiking trails are fantastic. We tried a staff-lead walk and also went out for the day by ourselves and it was so beautiful and relaxing. They have a lovely formal lounge for adults only with a warm, cosy fireplace. My husband enjoyed the pool, although it was a bit cold when we went! Champagne Castle has everything you need really- especially if your main interest is relaxing in nature.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a bit extra then ask for a deluxe mountain facing room. The middle ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sausagesandmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent three days at this hotel. The location is just beautiful, set at the foot of the Drakensberg Mountains. The view from our room was wonderful and we had a flock of geese, baboons and monkeys wandering about outside. The bedroom was very large with a huge bed and a balcony overlooking the grounds as well as views of the mountain.It would enhance the views if some of the very many trees were cut down. Plenty of cupboard space. The bathroom was large with shower and bath.

There is a lovely pool in the grounds. There are several walks of varying difficulty but because we did not have appropriate footwear we did not go walking. Next time. We did go for a helicopter ride around the mountains which was spectacular and highly recommended. We also visited a birds of prey rescue centre to watch a display. Very good.

All meals are buffet and this is the only downside of this establishment. Sometimes the food was good but often underwhelming. Chicken usually featured and was often curried the next meal. Wine, as ever in South Africa, great.

The sky at night here is lovely - star filled and you can see satellites tracking overhead. We saw the space station twinkling by.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in magnificent surroundings. Very comfortable room - although the promised view of the mountain was blocked by a tree... Revisited after 30 years. Disappointed by indifferent food. Bland, often over-cooked. Atmosphere spoilt by management reprimanding a staff member in our presence... Definitely not on! Suggest management spend more time on making guests feel welcome and ensuring standards are maintained. Plates not always clean, cutlery had finger prints, Perspex housing menu had obviously not been wiped for a while... Even the magnificent surroundings could not make up for the shortcomings. Unlikely to visit again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
832 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
14.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
7.0 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Property: Champagne Castle Hotel
Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champagne Castle Hotel is nestled below the second highest peak in South Africa, Champagne Castle (3377m), part of the main escarpment within the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range, the highest mountain range in South Africa. Due to its diversity of plant, bird and insect life and the richest collection of San rock paintings in Africa, it has been declared a Mixed World Heritage Site. For visual impact, recreational variety and luxurious splendour, Champagne Castle Hotel is pretty close to being an ultimate experience. Your stay will be characterised by the proximity you gain to the most dramatic and immediate views of the Drakensberg Escarpment and the 'Barrier of Spears'. Whether you walk or hike, trout fish or horse ride, play golf or tennis, swim or bowl, everything here has been configured to embrace this unparalleled setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing