We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smoking spoils holiday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champagne Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Champagne Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“smoking spoils holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

a lovely place for a breakaway, however spoilt by smoking. the bar which is in the main building right next to the main lounge where tea is served and along side the smaller lounge which has interleading doors to the bar. the doors are opened frequently which allows the smoke to enter the rooms. you are unable to get to enjoy a drink in the bar as there is smoking inside, this is very unfair to non-smokers. on complaining to reception we were told that the owner was currently having a smoke in the bar who allows this and there is nothing they can do. also during lunch time they have a beautiful patio which overlooks a lovely pool, we were unable to even sit there and enjoy our lunch due to smoking, which resulted in having lunch in the dining room which was unacceptable. even when you walk to and from the dining rooms, one must pass the bar where the doors are left open during the day. just a warning to all non-smokers your magical trip will be spoilt by this, we are hoping that this will be corrected as they could have been lovely place. - attitude of staff in dining room needs to be worked on as well. - during midday they have a weedeater making alot of noice right in front of the rooms, not very peaceful as what you would have liked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    225
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
291
341
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing of the hotel is definitely the stunning view. Rooms are good and clean, food is also fine, however the service is a bit impersonal as bigger hotels tend to be. Overall very good though I myself tend to prefer a little smaller more personal establishments.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the 300 block and 1st floor. They have best mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirgitChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are generously sized and extremely comfortable , the views from the rooms are amazing . The patio is fantastic and a wonderful place to while away a lazy afternoon with a glass of wine. The food is however very disappointing if you staying more than one night - it is definitely a case of more of the same. The buffets are a relic of the 80's and no thought goes into offering you something different , after three days of the same "hotel" food we decided to skip our last lunch that was included in the rate.

The children's program is non exisistant that despite it being a weekend and school holidays.

I certainly would not recommend this as a family retreat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed for 4 days while tending a conference at Champagne Sports Resort. I'm sure we got the best accommodation deal. The hotel is a lovely peaceful spot, I must definitely bring the family back. Room was well appointed, clean and fairly modern. Views quite spectacular. Breakfast good and staff friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I booked Champagne Castle following recommendations from friends. It exceeding all of my expectations. We stayed in a self-catering cottage which was luxurious, one night we dined in the restaurant. The buffet dinner was excellent and we left very well-fed. The location is magical, and the walks straight from the hotel was great. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent an amazing 4 nights at the Champagne Castle on 19 -23 August ... We stayed in a stunning Chalet, No. 9 - Not only was the chalet well appointed with fine furnishings, amenities and linen, but everything was clean and luxurious! The view from our patio was spectacular as we overlooked two small dams and the stunning Drakensberg Mountains. Every interaction that we had with the staff, whether it was ground staff, room attendants, reception or management; everyone was so friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do as they have a spa, tennis, bowls etc. as well as a restaurant, if self catering isn't your thing. Look up their website for further information http://www.champagnecastle.co.za - We enjoyed it so much - the only negative thing I have to say is that I wish our stay could have been longer!

Room Tip: If you are not staying in a Self Catering Chalet - as for a room overlooking the spectacular mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenbee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

After a splendid day in the Drakensberg we stopped over at the Champagne Castle Hotel for a spot of lunch and something to drink. The drinks arrived fairly quickly, but after about a hour waiting for the order of “Open Sandwiches” from the “Patio Menu” we decided to leave without lunch. A pity we have to say this about a venue that is so highly regarded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.8 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
14.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
17.7 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
6.8 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Castle Hotel

Property: Champagne Castle Hotel
Address: Route R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champagne Castle Hotel is nestled below the second highest peak in South Africa, Champagne Castle (3377m), part of the main escarpment within the uKhahlamba-Drakensberg mountain range, the highest mountain range in South Africa. Due to its diversity of plant, bird and insect life and the richest collection of San rock paintings in Africa, it has been declared a Mixed World Heritage Site. For visual impact, recreational variety and luxurious splendour, Champagne Castle Hotel is pretty close to being an ultimate experience. Your stay will be characterised by the proximity you gain to the most dramatic and immediate views of the Drakensberg Escarpment and the 'Barrier of Spears'. Whether you walk or hike, trout fish or horse ride, play golf or tennis, swim or bowl, everything here has been configured to embrace this unparalleled setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Champagne Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing