We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately go back”
Review of Ardmore Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Our stay at ardmore farm is always enjoyable and we continue to return every year.
The owners Paul and Sue were very friendly and the staff were always helpful, and contrary to the other reviews the family dogs were friendly and playful and help to create a relaxed, family atmosphere and were in no way overbearing.
The accomodation was always to a high standard with the introduction of four luxury houses to their already high quality accomodation I am sure you won't be disappointed.
The accomodation and housekeeping manager, michelle, personally visited every guesthouse in the morning to make sure our rooms were cleaned to the highest possible standard possible. The complementary toiletries, biscuits, tea, coffee and sherry really added a special personal touch to my stay.

The catering manager Jacqueline prepared beautiful local dishes along with some well known favourites for the evening meals with a menu that varied nightly to make sure short stay and long stay guests were catered for. Breakfast was always beautiful as you could sit outside on the veranda and enjoy the views of the Drakensberg with a selection of cereals and fruits or a cooked breakfast and with tea and coffee readily available and all included in the price I don't think I could have wanted much more, or they could have done much more for me for that matter.

With spontaneous trips across the grounds owned by Sue and Paul, we would visit the top of their hills with an ice cold beverage to watch the sun set.

To sum up, very enjoyable, lovely people and would definately go back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeebeans0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were looking forward to a well deserved weekend on a beautiful farm,but what we got .. unkempt and disheveled farm.
On arrival the dogs were all over us,but not only then, at mealtimes they were in the lounge and in the dining room and all over the breakfast area the following morning. I realize that the owners are dog lovers but not all guest appreciate dinner with dogs under the table.
We had a two room cottage,not been cleaned this year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Being a professional man and feeling a bit jaded from overwork I decided to take a short 5 day break in the mountains ( a 2 hr.drive from my home in Durban a city with a sub-tropical climate situated on the east coast of South Africa). I chose Ardmore a guest farm of which I had fond memories having last visited it about ten years ago. Well it provided just the tonic I needed - a late lie in and then a huge English breakfast with after that a long walk in the cool, crisp mountain air or a visit to craft shops and other local places of interest ( for the more adventurous mountain walks and climbs are available). A little nap in the afternoon or reading a good book (if I was not out all day)and then through to the cozy pub to meet up with and chat to the other guests from all parts of the world. Then a wander through to the dining room with a magnificent four course home cooked meal presided over by mein host Paul Ross who makes everybody feel at home and finally through to the guest lounge for coffee where there is a roaring fire burning and you can chat to the wee hours of the morning. I returned home feeling refreshed and invigorated ready to face the challenges of the working world once again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Neslted under the Central Drakensberg Mountains, this is the perfect place to explore the area which is full of activities for all the family. We stayed 5 nights and had a superb time. Everyone was very friendly and with our delayed flight due to the Icelandic Volacano were extremely helpful in sorting out some extra nights for us. Our son loved it as there are loads of animals at the farm, the dogs, ducks, horses etc. He also had a great time playing with the owners kids.

The accomodation is fanatastic and sitting out at night on the huge balcony (after a jacuzzi) with a log fire going in your bedroom looking up at the stars does not get much better.

Rooms were very clean and well presented

If you are looking for a relaxing time with family or as a couple this is great. Near to everything. You can join in with other guests for dinner in the evening (or by yourself) or choose to have a BBQ at your cottage. Food is basic but tasty and wine entirely quaffable. Again if you want other wine you can buy it at the supermarket. With a family it is nice not to have to get back to your hotel then organise going out for food every nifght so we appreciated that. Kids TV available so they can watch that while you enjoy the rest of your meal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrubbyHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We, a Kiwi family of 4, had an awesome time spent at Ardmore. Very relaxing place to chill after a hard days animal spotting. The sunrise over the Drakensbergs and the dawn chorus of the birds was an absolute delight. Great food and atmosphere in the evenings. Would highly recommend...and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mottarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Having read the other reviews on Ardmore I'm afraid we all paid too much attention to value and not enough to quality. I suppose it was value for money if one had small children with you but with very little extra effort (and expense) it could have been so much nicer - the sofas in the 2 bedroomed chalels and the ball and claw furniture were from a different age. Where did they source them? The rooms were spacious and nicely built but stocked with stuff from another century. The less said about the food the better - Paul and Sue were away so that might account for it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityslicker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We arrived at Ardmore expecting it to be part of the Pottery but it appears to no longer have a connection. Tired is the kindest thing you could say, needs a coat of paint and a good clean, food was below average and the wine which was included in the price undrinkable - the carafes not used at dinner appeared to be on the sideboard the next morning! Having spent a month traveling around SA staying almost exclusively in guest houses this was the only one to disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
5.2 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
956 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
62 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
687 reviews
15.3 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
5.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 17 in Winterton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Guest Farm

Address: | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: $91 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmore Guest Farm is situated in the heart of the scenic Champagne Valley in the central Drakensberg mountain range. Here you can enjoy stunning views of the three highest peaks in South Africa - Mafadi (highest peak at 3450m), Injisuti Dome (3410m) and the majestic Champagne Castle (3377m) which are all situated within the World Heritage site. We are surrounded by breathtaking views and fantastic opportunities for hiking and exploring the local area. We also have our won Ardmore Museum and art gallery, and the African Loom weaving centre for those who are interested in local crafts and artwork. We provide comfortable farm style accommodation, with dinner and breakfast included. We have a total of 18 units, situated either in a traditional thatch rondawel or in one of our beautiful mountain facing cottages or garden rooms. All rooms are en-suite with private fireplaces and free firewood. Wake up to a traditional farmhouse breakfast (full English) overlooking Ardmore's extensive gardens. Relax in our pub with a cold drink before joining us for a relaxed four course lantern lit dinner with complimentary wine served in our yellow wood dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ardmore Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Guest Farm Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing