We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, quiet and fantastic views”
Review of Ardmore Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

When we arrived and I saw our house (two storey accommodation for the two of us, I thought it was lovely. The 'house' would have slept six comfortably with two bathrooms. Open fire..

We were there when the temperature reached over 34 degrees so found it very hot, would love to be there when the open fire in the bedroom and the open plan lounge, it must be stunning.

The food was lovely both evening meal (wine with meal if you wanted) and breakfast with plenty of choice. The owner and host made you feel very welcome. Nothing too much trouble.

The views were stunning and the hospitality was great

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christa1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 286 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Ardmore Guest Farm for more than a decade. Every time we drive into the grounds there’s a wonderful sense of peace – and anticipation, knowing we’re in for a truly enjoyable stay. It’s pure tranquil Berg, with the bonus of our charming and attentive hosts Paul and Sue Ross. The accommodation is very comfortable without losing the country ‘feel’. There are smaller rooms at lesser prices but we always request one of the roomy two storey cottages with a lounge and fireplace and magnificent views. The food has never disappointed, great home cooking, hearty breakfasts and complimentary wine with dinner (four courses) in the stunning Yellowwood dining room. There are gregarious dogs to take you for walks, pet pigs and horses that graze on your doorstep. Some of our fondest memories were made at Ardmore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were rudely bumped out of one of the big Drakensberg Hotels in favour of a sporting function or conference and a good thing too, because we discovered better value-for-money and a warmer welcome at Ardmore Guest Farm, within the fabulous Cathkin Peak area of the Berg. We were a group of overseas visitors and we were all delighted with the comfort, food and lovely atmosphere of the thatched accommodation at Ardmore which looks out at Cathkin Peak and Champagne Castle. The management produced marvelous packed lunches for us for our walk onto the Little Berg and their dinners and breakfasts were a perfect start and end to each day. The bar with a self-service honour system was a nice touch. We had a load of washing done at a very reasonable price, which added to our ability to travel on in comfort. Our only regret is not having had several more days to stay and to enjoy the hospitality and the restful atmosphere of the property and area in which it is situated. It is on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabbybellGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here with a family of five for two nights. Ardmore is located in such a way that you'll get an awesome view of the mountains. The guesthouses stand a few meters apart and all have straw roof which make for a nice view. there's different accomodations. We took the mountain view acoomodations that came equipped with two bathrooms, 3 bedrooms and two fireplaces and a terrace. The guesthouse is quite big and have an old, dusted but comfortable sqeeky feeling to it. It reminded me of visiting my grandfather that used to smoke a pipe, you notice the smell of the fireplace eventhough it's not lit up - it's a bit muffy. The central guest facility is the place where breakfast and dinner is served it too has two fireplaces, and honesty bar a rec.room a nice terrace with pingpong & foosball tables. There's also a garden behind the building where the kids can play on a trampoline, a tree house or go off a slide. Dinner is served with the fireplace burning and makes for a cozy scene. there's also a few small animals on the grounds which is fun for the kids. On the last night a windy storm raged and i woke up with wet feet from a leaky roof - we had to put a bin under it to catch the water. The next morning the staff apologized multiple times and alerted a builder to come fix the issue. For us it was part of the south african adventure. The jaccuzi was nice and so was the fireplace it's a great place to have some warm family nights. There's not a lot to do in the near vicinity of this property but that's the whole point of a guest house like this - to get away from it all. If you are in for an adventure visit the Falcon Ridge birdshow or go for a walk in the mountains - it's simply amazing. We loved our stay here and we really liked the warm welcome we got from the staff. I'm guessing we interacted with the owners parents who made us feel welcome, comfortable and they bonded really well with the kids. We had a good time here and we will return here someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

coming to Ardmore again was like visiting relatives, paul, sue and staff were so warm and welcoming.
the accommodation and views remain outstanding.
the food is, I think, even better, all homemade and delicious.
overall I place to relax and revive the soul
will be back again!!

Room Tip: we like the mountain view cottages, which are spacious, with log fire and private patio and awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ardmore Guest Farm is charming, quirky, friendly & comfortable.
The owner Paul is do interesting & happy to chat about anything. Esme who I gather runs the "food/housekeeping" part is helpful & warm. The food is home style & stunningly fresh & well cooked. Ingredients are from the garden here or sourced locally.
Dinner is vast & includes generous supplies of good red wine.
They can cook eggs (any style) to perfection.
Lynette who seems to run the office is so helpful too.
We chose the smallest thatched rondel but even that is quite large enough & comfy with ensuite.
There are many bigger rooms with jacuzzi & views for those who need more.
The polite dogs roaming around l, asking hopefully for a pat add to the rural ambience.
"Heaven, I'm in heaven".
From 2 Kiwis.
PS Reading a couple of the reviews below I think those critics must have got the wrong place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Ardmore Guest Farm in July 2013, for a winter getaway.
Having read reports on this site and a few others, mostly good, but some bad, I entered the property via the bumpy dirt road with a measure of trepidation.
This was short-lived, as the welcome we got was not only friendly and warm, but completely spontaneous and we were made to feel at home in an instant.
The mountain facing chalet (Eland) was spotless upon our arrival. All we smelled upon our entry was thatch and furniture polish.
All the amenities were there, from hot water, ice in the freezer, to a comfy (squeaky) four-poster bed, a jacuzzi and best of all a stone fire place with loads of firewood and oil lamps, reminding me of my youth!
After unpacking and relaxing with a sundowner on the patio, we went to dinner. We sampled the unique "honesty bar" found it well stocked, with loads of liquor of all types, lots of ice, even freshly sliced lemon slices for the Gin or Tequila later! But the best aspect of the pub was the pricing. All the liquor, including the wine was priced at retail bottle store prices, not hotel rates. I hope this remains the norm for some time to come!

The food was to die for!
Hearty, home-cooked dishes abounded, as did the complimentary carafes of red and white wine. (Which in my opinion was very good, so I could not help but to indulge in some imbibbing!) During our stay, the dishes we had, among others, were: Butternut soup, Lasagne, chicken pie, lamb chops, bobotie, roast beef, gammon, all expertly prepared and done just right.. Deserts to satisfy any sweet tooth and a Cheese board completed all the meals, along with coffee in front of the log fire.
The breakfasts were lovely, hearty and the portion size, as with dinner, most generous!

Ardmore is a guest farm, not a hotel, but the standards set by these people, far surpassed my expectations!

The chalet was spacious, comfortable and above all.....quiet! Although there were other families around, we were afforded peace and quiet, exactly what we came for!

Well done to the owners of Ardmore, for a super idea, turning a working farm into a guest haven! But better still, well done to the staff for making it work!

We will definitely be back, and may I say to the critics that gave bad reviews before, your points of criticism might have been legitimate at the time, but we found no trace of any of the imperfections listed previously. The owners and management of Ardmore clearly listened and acted on the criticism levied at them and certainly made our stay an absolute pleasure.

Well done Ardmore, see you again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain facing chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mnrvuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
5.2 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
910 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
935 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Guest Farm

Address: | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: $69 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmore Guest Farm is situated in the heart of the scenic Champagne Valley in the central Drakensberg mountain range. Here you can enjoy stunning views of the three highest peaks in South Africa - Mafadi (highest peak at 3450m), Injisuti Dome (3410m) and the majestic Champagne Castle (3377m) which are all situated within the World Heritage site. We are surrounded by breathtaking views and fantastic opportunities for hiking and exploring the local area. We also have our won Ardmore Museum and art gallery, and the African Loom weaving centre for those who are interested in local crafts and artwork. We provide comfortable farm style accommodation, with dinner and breakfast included. We have a total of 18 units, situated either in a traditional thatch rondawel or in one of our beautiful mountain facing cottages or garden rooms. All rooms are en-suite with private fireplaces and free firewood. Wake up to a traditional farmhouse breakfast (full English) overlooking Ardmore's extensive gardens. Relax in our pub with a cold drink before joining us for a relaxed four course lantern lit dinner with complimentary wine served in our yellow wood dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ardmore Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Guest Farm Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing