We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, genuine hospitality”
Review of Ardmore Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at Ardmore over New Year and could not have been made more welcome. Paul and Sue were superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a 3 bed thatched, mountain view cottage which was great! Lovely to soak in the jacuzzi after a long walk and listen to the thunder rolling around the mountains! Ardmore was our final leg of a 3 week holiday in South Africa and we were not disappointed!

We love the mountains and came to hike. The surrounding area boasts stunning views of Champagne Castle and Cathkin Peak which rise to over 3000 metres. There are various walks from Monk's Cowl, a short drive away. We also drove (an hour and a half) to Royal Natal National Park in the North Drakensbergs to walk to Tugela Falls, the world's second highest waterfall. An amazing gorge walk with stunning views and well worth the drive.

On New Years Eve, our hosts arranged a quiz after dinner, and for those who could stay awake until midnight, a champagne toast!

The atmosphere is that of a house party, very friendly and sociable. You all eat dinner together (good home cooked fare) and exchange stories about your day over a glass of wine. For those who love the countryside and animals this is a great place. The dogs happily tag on to your strolls around the gardens, ducklings follow you around, horses munch grass outside your door.

We would certainly go back if we visited the area again. A delightful end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaspCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 286 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

We absolutely can recommend this lovely farm
Spacious accomodation, surrounded by the breattaking views of the Drakenberg Mountains.
Very friendly people and amazing food is served in the morning outside, and Dinner in the dining room with the other guests.
Very cozy, homely atmosphere. Was an absolutley hightlight on our tour.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Ardmore for only one night on our hiking honeymoon around the Drakensburg, and wish we could have stayed longer! We were welcomed with a chilled bottle of champagne in our cottage as a congratulations and both the breakfast and dinner were fantastic. The master bedroom in the cottage was beautiful, with an ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi tub! The owners were extremely friendly and staff very attentive in the main house. We didn't have enough time to see the grounds during the day, but it looked very nice from the balcony at dinner. I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_M_Saggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

On the final part of our honeymoon in South Africa we wanted to stop in the Drakensberg region of KwaZulu Natal.
After Googling a few places we called Ardmore.
How delighted we were that we found them.
Perfect setting, perfect accommodation, perfect place, perfect hosts.
Friendly and efficient staff, lovely home-cooked food, fabulous mountain view cottage to stay in.
Thank you for providing such a wonderful memory of our time in South Africa on our Honeymoon

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

visiting Admore farm again was like visiting friends.
we were delighted to enjoy the hospitality, accomodation, views and food all over again. the area has much to do, or not do, and just relax.
would recommend the Drakensberg School Choir. Also the Bird of Prey center near Monks Cowl has a wide range of birds and does a very impressive display
thankyou Paul, Sue and staff for another wonderful stay, hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: cottages have the most amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were staying in one of the 3 bedroom mountain view thatched cottages on the farm. It was beautiful, clean and comfortable with incredile views of the 3 highest peaks in South Africa from out outside balcony. From Ardmore, we drove to Monks Cowl and the Drakensberg Sun to go walking, stunning! We had definitely worked up an appetite after trekking up the mountains and Ardmore thankfully provided us with plenty of hearty food for both dinner and breakfast. The staff are very friendly and the owners of Ardmore are wonderful hosts. It is undeniable that Ardmore does appear a little rough around the edges, but we had a fantastic stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The setting of the guest house could not be more beautiful. There are no other properties visible meaning you get to enjoy a completely unspoilt view of the three highest peaks in the Drakensbergs. This makes sitting outside of your room feel like an activity in itself.

The accommodation is superb. We have stayed in both a rondavel and a cottage. Both are very attractive from the outside and extremely comfortable inside. In winter, the fireplaces are set. We spent evenings playing cards and having drinks in complete snugness.

The food is very homely - very tasty and buffet style. The only downside was that we ended up eating far too much!

The staff and owners are unfailingly hospitable. This creates a wonderfully laid back and friendly atmosphere.

There are lots of activities easily within reach of the guest farm. Obviously there are many great walks. But there is also an adventure activity place, a chance to do a canopy walk, the Drakensberg Boys' Choir (a must), golf and lots of lovely local shops.

For all this, we thought that the price of our stay was ridiculously low. We cannot believe that there is anywhere that would offer more for less.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryIngwavuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
5.2 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
910 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
933 reviews
17.9 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Guest Farm

Address: | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: $69 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmore Guest Farm is situated in the heart of the scenic Champagne Valley in the central Drakensberg mountain range. Here you can enjoy stunning views of the three highest peaks in South Africa - Mafadi (highest peak at 3450m), Injisuti Dome (3410m) and the majestic Champagne Castle (3377m) which are all situated within the World Heritage site. We are surrounded by breathtaking views and fantastic opportunities for hiking and exploring the local area. We also have our won Ardmore Museum and art gallery, and the African Loom weaving centre for those who are interested in local crafts and artwork. We provide comfortable farm style accommodation, with dinner and breakfast included. We have a total of 18 units, situated either in a traditional thatch rondawel or in one of our beautiful mountain facing cottages or garden rooms. All rooms are en-suite with private fireplaces and free firewood. Wake up to a traditional farmhouse breakfast (full English) overlooking Ardmore's extensive gardens. Relax in our pub with a cold drink before joining us for a relaxed four course lantern lit dinner with complimentary wine served in our yellow wood dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ardmore Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Guest Farm Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing