We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We enjoyed every moment!!Staff were great!! Grounds beautiful !!! Food was great!!! Loved the boat trip,surrounding area etc.Loved the snow and we do feel very BLESSED !!

Will definitely go again!! Thanks !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Was not impressed with the attitude of the reception staff including management. One of the Food & Beverage Managers asked if we were guests at the hotel when we went down to dine and it surely wasn't in a "nice" way. As a guest of the hotel that statement of his didn't go down to well with me. This is one of the many problems we encountered with the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very good hotel in an excellent environment. The hikes and zip lining tour are very recommended. It was very safe, the meals were good. The activities were extensive. We had a fun time. I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Aveen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Room was spacious & comfortable but dated. Shower was extremely small.
Lovely view from the room though. They really, really cater for kids so there is lots to keep them entertained. Reception should inform guests on checkin that the program is so extensive & not just hand out programs. Service in the bar was poor-no waiter around so we had to go to the bar every time to reorder. The outside deck has loose flooring & in need of repair. Variety of food at dinner was limited. Breakfast was such a disappointment. They only cater for guests every alternative day who do not eat beef or pork. The F&B Manager was unfriendly & not willing to even meet our needs. We were not Inspired...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Billy3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Drakensburg Sun resort was a regular holiday destination for my family when I was a child. After many years we returned and it was very encouraging that the hotel has retained their very high service standards.

We were greeted warmly at reception and given a lovely hot chocolate in the snowy weather. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and efficient. I was very impressed with the internal revamp of the timshare units. They have a very modern look now which is much needed. The units however still remain warm and cosy despite the modern revamp.

The location of the hotel is wonderful being in the central Drakensburg, but I must be honest, the view of the main Drakensburg mountains is a little disappointing due to the resort being situated in a valley. If you want to be able to have a good view of the mountains all day, Drakensburg Sun is not for you, you will be better off heading closer to Monks Cowl for a better view.

We enjoyed a timeshare braai which was great! If I have to make any constructive comments, I think the Drakensburg Sun needs to set up wifi facilities in the timeshare rooms and purchase new Bingo cards. I think i used those same cards 15 years ago! Or at least they look that way.

Room Tip: timeshare units have a lovely extended balcony now which will accomodate a large family The TV is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JonathanShutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

An awesome experience. This was our halfway stop to Durban and would recommend this. Staff are very friendly and the views from the rooms are lovely.Great variety of food at dinner , and the breakfast excellent. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very friendly staff, the entire weekend! Lovely activities for the kids. We thought good value for the food, great variety. Wonderful getaway for family for young and older kids. We will be back very soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
974 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
598 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
66 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
14.9 mi away
River Crossing B & B
River Crossing B & B
#2 of 3 in Cathkin Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: $132 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and bedfinder AG so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing