We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsogo sun a little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the resort the last weekend of may. When we arrived at the resort we received a warm welcome and a complementary drink, after booking in and our cases were taken to our room. The rooms are beautifully layed out and the view from the rooms are stunning. The resort has some wonderful activities and the service is out of the world. The resort really makes you feel so special while you are there. Ill recommend this resort to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a child growing up, we always went to this resort for our annual timeshare slot! So I have been visiting Drakensberg Sun for years now! Never disappointed! This time, I took a group of my friends for a "Girl's Week", and again, I had a good time! There is always something to do, lots of outdoor activities and entertainment. A lot is aimed at families, but yet, as a group of girls, we stayed constantly busy and made the most of our time spent there!

Since we stayed in the self-catering cottages, we rarely tried out the food from the hotel, but service was good and rooms were cleaned everyday!

The setting of the resort is also ideal! Amazing views and scenery! Good hiking location and there is a lot to explore in the surrounding area! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Self-catering cottages are best to share with friends! Also, if you are looking to go with a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a fantastic two days, great hotel, great service, nice food, great location and view. Good location to use as a base for visiting the Drakensberg. The setting is fantastic, the fires burning in the hotel public rooms creates a romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank vwjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great stay,nice helpful staff and found some really good mountain bike routes close by. Get a weekly ticket at the resort down at the air strip.They (Jakes) also gave directions for extended rides.
Oh...did I mention those mountains and the hikes and canopy tours and horse riding and scooter downhill rides.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely resort with lots to do in and around the area. Food was great, comfortable beds and soft, crisp duvets were a treat. Fiendly and helpful staff who made us feel welcome throughout our short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Warren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Beautiful surroundings, great food with a variety of choices, Numerous activities to keep kids as well as parents busy.
The rooms have been tastefully modernised and are great. The service is good, and we will deffinately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We are staying here for the second time and we love the place. We love it because of its tranquility, the views and the hiking trails. I think every room here has a view of the beautiful Drakensburg mountains. What we love the most are the hiking trails - the best! This time they have also made an effort to make them safer and more manageable for the elderly. We loved them even before then. We went on a hiking trail everyday of our stay here and we stayed for a week. The hotel itself is well kept, cozy and very welcoming. I love the fire places especially at this time of the year when it is a bit nippy. The rooms are big and very comfortable. In general this resort is a reliable place to book into because one will not be disappointed. The only thing I would improve is the cooking/food - it becomes a little boring after three days and since there is no other restaurant one has to keep going back to the same. I love the Friday buffet the most because sushi was included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kgethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
974 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
599 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
66 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
14.9 mi away
River Crossing B & B
River Crossing B & B
#2 of 3 in Cathkin Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: $132 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and bedfinder AG so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing