We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drakensberg Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were fortunate to spend a weekend away at the Drakensberg Sun, and the whole family had a blast. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the kids had a great time with all the entertainment on offer.
The food on offer was also world class and chef Andrew went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The cherry on the top was the restaurant staff bringing my wife a cake and singing to her for her birthday.

The only negative would be that the rooms are starting to look a bit tatty, and our room was a bit of a squash for 5 people.

All in all, a fantastic weekend away !

Room Tip: The further away from the restaurant/smoking area the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    239
    110
    22
    21
See reviews for
434
214
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

took a long weekend and went there for a few days. was very nice and relaxing and just peacefull and quiet. great place to go with your family and children as there are plenty of activities for the children and the adults as well. great for a weekend or a few days away. the dinner and breakfast buffets were just above average with the same food coming on to buffet daily so the only downside is that if you staying for a few days its a bit repititive but other than that it was a great relaxing weekedn that i would recommend to people looking to get away. oh and great hiking trails up for offer but the fitness center has got hardly any equipment so dont expect to go there and push some weights and do a full work out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilderness, western cape
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited Drakensberg Sun in June last year. This was our second visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We went as a family and were given a 2 bedroomed apartment on the ground floor. The only drawback was that the zips in the sofa cushions were broken and made the sitting room look untidy.The staff weren't really interested. It is a fantastic place for the whole family as there is a lot to do. The children's programme was excellent, pony rides, boat rides amongst many other activities. I went birding and the family went hiking, super !! We found the buffett dinner delicious and the staff very attentive. The trout was superb. The views of the dam and the mountains in the background were breathtakingly beautiful. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful place with the Drakensberg mountains as its backdrop. The hotel is super peaceful, quiet, there is no sigh of civilization for mile. It just you and nature.

BUT....I am not a person that loves nature that much, so for me the mountain did get a bit boring after a while but its great to get a bit of fresh air once in awhile.

I advise if your a nature lover this is the place to be,
If your not then this isn't.

Otherwise they do have other activities indoors for people like me that enjoy indoors.

My only complain is that the rooms are terribly old with uncomfortable beds.
Also there is NO LIFTS.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamogelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

After viewing this hotel on the net, I picked it for a business/leisure 4 day stay for myself & colleagues. Having had positive experiences at other other Sun hotels in Africa, I was confident it would meet my expectations. We arrived early evening in the midst of a huge downpour, my impression of the check-in process was chaos. A table had been set up in the reception area where all our room keys were placed - it being a large group the one staff member tasked with checking us in soon soon got overwhelmed & we took over to ensure everyone had a key and luggage was matched with the correct person.
The hotel is undergoing renovation and lifts are non existent which meant hotel staff had to lag heavy pieces of luggage through 3 or more flights of stairs. 2 of my colleagues couldn't get anyone to assist with the luggage & had to do it themselves. The carpets in the corridors are in serious need of replacement but the rooms allocated to us were good, clean & everything worked. However, 1st floor rooms had a damp & musty feel. In addition, items used or removed by the cleaning staff in the rooms were not replaced and by the end of my stay I was constantly asking for soap,shower caps,shower gels etc.
The food & service at the restaurant was appalling & I got the sense that the restaurant staff were in serious need of customer service training. We would be seated at the tables and it would take at-least 10 min (or shorter if we went looking for someone to serve us) before the drinks orders were taken. On most days, wine would be placed on the table & not opened & we'd again have to look for someone to do it. On one occasion after our drinks took almost 20 min to arrive, we eventually found them on the bar counter with no sign of anyone being in a hurry to bring them to our table. We took matters into our own hands, went looking for glasses and brought the drinks to our table!
Most meals were buffet but were the food was bland & not seasoned. There are many rivers within the hotel grounds & vicinity famed for trout fishing but it was not available on the hotel menu(we were told it was out of stock)! Used utensils were not cleared from the tables unless we complained or the staff realized there was no where to put the next course when they finally got round to serving it.
The "gym" had 3 broken machines with a treadmill added on the last day.
After a 5 hour bus drive from Johannesburg to get there It was a disappointing experience all round,particularly for a Tsogo Sun facility. The only saving grace for this hotel is the beautifully maintained grounds & the fantastic views of the mountains. I won't be going back anytime soon.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor, its dark,damp & musty + you have to go down at least 6 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Njoki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were booked in a 2 bedroom apartment. Arrived at the hotel late in the evening. Check in staff were excellent. Checked us in really quickly. Our apartment was on the ground floor which was very good as the kids could run around on the lawn and enjoy the fresh air. The apartments are well furnished and are fully self catering although one can use the restaurant facilities available and also room service which is available to apartment guest.
The area is just awesome. We were there only for 2 nights which we found to be too little as there is so much to do both at the resort and around the resort.
The only negative from my side is that the rooms are not sound proof and sounds of people and cleaning staff can be heard through the closed doors which can be a bit annoying when you are trying to have a much needed rest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flausa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the Drakensberg Sun for a wedding for 4 days and I wouldn't like to stay there again. We arrived late at night - about 1:30AM. The staff were asleep and the door to the hotel locked. They did open after a short while and then struggled to find our booking as they were half aleep.

The next morning, we were woken up at around 8:00 AM by the staff shouting at eah other in the passages and the lawnmower under our window. This was not a once off event, the morning after we were again woken up by screaming staff and maintenance - someone banging nails into something for over half and hour. Needless to say - there are huge gaps under the doors and soundproofing does not exist. Staff are not mindful of maintaining peace when servicing the rooms either.

The food is not good. It is obious that the ingredients are as cheap as possible and the preparation careless. I must say, however, that the food prepared for the wedding was good.

The hotel is old and needs an upgrade, the furniture in reception and bar is especially in need of replacement. There is a dirty and delapidated feeling to the place. The bathrooms are tiny (we had an executive room!) and the shower cabin must have been designed for children.

On the positive side, I have to say, the service was wonderful. Staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

This is a place with a lot more potential than is currently utilised! The setting is beautiful, there are so many activities, hikes, etc, but the thought of the accomodation and food won't have me returning there in a hurry.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible and don't bother booking an executive room. The only differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.8 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
13.8 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
24.0 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Property: Drakensberg Sun Resort
Address: R600 Central Drakensberg | Cathkin Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing