We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort is so beautiful,views breathtaking.the trip to resort was awesome.our stay was peaceful,restful.food was delicious.room was clean an tidy.the mountain view was gorgeous.staFf were wonderful from start-finish.activities were added bonus.it was our first holiday,THANKS FOR MAKING OUR STAY AWESOME.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaleneadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst B, Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Drakensberg Sun in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    250
    114
    25
    22
See reviews for
462
226
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

we had an excellant get away to the drakenburg sun . our drive up from durban was great due to the snow fall during the time . the hotel was cozy , clean , room was big with views overlooking the lake and mountains. staff were always friendly . the buffet breakfast and dinners were fantastics with a wide varietly to choose from . There were plenty of activities for kids and adults through out the day. no need to leave the resort unless exploring the area. The only problem we had was that ordering meals during lunch took some time to be prepared , but meals were good when they arrived. We will definitely be returning. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful location. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Lots to do at the resort. We enjoyed the cruise on the lake and paint ball. Excellent food. Our 2 night stay in the hotel was definitely too short.

Room Tip: Very strict smoking rules apply. If you are a smoker, be sure to request a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaqilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wonderful resort - been going for many years and never been disappointed. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and always well maintained,neat,clean and tidy. Staff are excellent - always friendly and ready to assist. Nice kids and general entertainment program. Food also good. No matter what you going there for (family trip, business etc) it's definitely a place I would recommend someone to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is nestled between the foothills of the Drakensberg and overlook the Monk's Cowl and Champagne Castle, two peaks of the Drakensberg. There are many activities at the hotel which includes rowing on the lake, hiking, entertainment at the pool, tennis and many others, too many to mention. It is therefore the ideal holiday to either rest and enjoy the views or be active in the same environment. The hotel is clean and staff friendly,but a revamp is now overdue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliviersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We rented a 6/8 sleeper chalet for a week.Very spacious accommodation. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the hiking trails,canoeing and the pool
The kids enjoyed the activities in the play room and also went for the paint ball shooting on the premises.It was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable week.
The self catering chalet allowed us to enjoy meals in the chalet

Room Tip: We had a lake facing Chalet and found it very accessible tot both the pools and main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abduragiem I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had treated ourselves and booked in for two nights for one of the six executive rooms that they have at R2380 a night. We'd planned it to be the highlight of our week long holiday.

We had a warm welcome at the entrance and front desk but were incredibly disappointed by the room. It was tired, felt like it was 15 years out of date and in bad need of refurbishment. The room wasn't the suite that we'd imagined (the lack of photos on the Tsogo Sun website was partly to blame).

This was the first time that we checked out early from a hotel, checking out just thirty minutes after we'd arrived. There's no way that with rooms like that we could justify the price tag.

The staff were polite and handled the full refund well and we booked ourselves into a fantastic B&B in Winterton for less than half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
843 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
608 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Property: Drakensberg Sun Resort
Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing