We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful nested in the Drakensberg with lots to do in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful nested in the Drakensberg with lots to do in the area”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited the Drakensberg and stayed for a week in the Drakensberg Sun during the end of September 2012. The four star Hotel could have been a five star as it is well looked after by the personel who takes pride in their work. The surrounding area is stunning with lots to do. Falcon Ridge is a must to visit and the Honey Cheese cake is divine down the road at Scrumpy Jack with an interesting talk on bees that you could attend. The Canopy Tour next to the Hotel is not to be missed. Should you have the need to attend the Drakensberg Boy's Choir for an performance, it is all there up the road. The Bata shoe factory a few kilometers away is another visit should you be in need of lovely shoes at reasonable prises. Etc......etc.... Get the ifo map at Thokozisa for more driving arround in this beautiful countryside of South Africa. We are blessed!!!

Room Tip: Any room is beautifull as you have the mountain view from any of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    250
    114
    25
    22
See reviews for
462
226
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Breathtaking location, great service and excellent food. Lovely entertainment team who created great fun around the pool. Hikes are incredible and the nearby canopy tour provided great thrills. Our group varied from ages 15-71 years old. Entertainment for all ages. The rooms are a little tired but clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I recently had a trip to the Hotel as part of a year end conference. To start, the Hotel is located in the most spectacular setting in the Drakensburg mountains. All the rooms are mountain facing and looks over rolling lawns and natural bush. There is also a beautiful little dam at the bottom of the property. The food served over the few days we were there was excellent and the variety was great!! 10/10!! The rooms were a little dissapointing as the furniture is dated and they still have old box televisions. The beds and linen was at least new and clean. Unfortunately the rest of the service was not great, the management never seem to be on site and the staff tried their best to assist as far as they could. If I was rating the hotel on location and food, they would get an excellent rating (5/5) but due to the tired rooms and lack of service, the rating is average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Absolutely breathtaking views, incredible walks, huge selection of food, excellent service. I would say by far the best place to stay in these mountains. It's a family getaway as well as a couple's retreat. Two swimming pools, golf, great spa. Truly lovely.

Room Tip: Front chalets on lawn. Those have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Only stayed one night in the Hotel section... not the timeshare side. Enjoyed the beautiful scenery right in the mountains. Food was very good and very tasty. Service a bit slow. Rooms very comfortable but tired looking...need to upgrade their cupboards, dressing table etc. Great for families, lots to do. Short 3 hour drive from Durban. The weather was good but one never knows in the Berg, you could have all four seasons in one day. Very popular all year round as you can swim and do all the outdoor activities and in Winter you could even enjoy the Snow.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was rather nice as we could walk out onto the lawn and down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsonDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Drakensberg Sun for the firat time in April 2012. When we arrived we were happy to be informed that dinner wasnincluded in our rate (which was already slashed by 65% due a local loualty programme!). It was quite chilly so we were greeted with some great hot chocolate (on tap).

The food is great and the variety is endless. It's a buffet so go early (we uaually has earlyish dinners witb drinks in the bar afterwards). The desserts were unfortunately not on par ALL the time, but still good.

The room was clean, bit a bit dated. Luxurious still, but our television was probably last replaced in the 90s. I did see other rooms though with flat screen TVs, so they are probably on a slow upgrade on these.

If you go in the school holdays, be prepared for a LOT of kids running around between the dinner tables. There are a lot of activities for them and the resort is huge so its jot crowded at all.

Overall, very pleasant. It would be way to expensive to stay here on normal rates though

The area is stunning, with lots of restaurants/curio shops etc within an hour or so's drive in just about all directions.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is well situated with incredible views. But here your expectation of a relaxing holiday stops. The check-in is good and friendly, When you enter you selfcatering unit, after traveling for ages along miles of passages and up uncountable stairs, you are so tired that the only thing on your mind is a long relaxing drink on the patio, allas no such luck, only ground floor units has a patio and we were on the third floor. Well not the end of the world, we can take our drinks and go downstairs find a bench and relaxs. After walking around for 30 min we were unable to find a single bench or chair, we poured our drinks out on the ground and stubled back to our unit A337.
We found the unit comfortable and well equiped, but very outdated. During our midweek stay we were unable to take any walks thru the gardens or to go outside and enjoy the view AND THIS ALL BECAUSE THERE IS NOT A SINGLE BENCH OR STAIR OR PLACE TO SIT OUTSIDE THE HOTEL, AS WE ARE 70 YEARS OF AGE AND THE FACT THAT OUR UNIT HAD NO PATIO WE WERE PRISONERS IN OUR UNIT. WE WILL MOST CERTAINLY ADVISE OUR FRIENDS TO STAY FAR AWAY FROM YOUR HOTEL.

Room Tip: Choose a groundfloor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
843 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
609 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Property: Drakensberg Sun Resort
Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing