We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a favourite, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have once again returned to one of our favourites, the Drakensberg Sun. The setting, atmosphere and food remain excellent, but a few things do niggle. Why no carports? There have been numerous requests for this and still no response. The hotel rooms' bathrooms are outdated and need a serious revamp, as do the air-conditioners. The gym is also in desperate need of proper equipment.
We love the Drakensberg Sun, but all these things have been mentioned before by various people, yet still no response by management, which is sad indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 956 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been to Drakensburg Sun on two occasions. The resort is fabulous. Both the chalets and apartments are well laid out and clean. The food at the restaurant is always well presented and tasty.

There is ample to do on and around the resort, from hiking, site seeing , fishing, there is something for everyone.

The views of the surrounds is breathtaking and serene. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mubeen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Magnificient views in a very conveniently situated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in April. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and immaculately kept. There are lots of activities on offer and I expect that it is a favourite for families with young children.
The food was excellent, with large buffets and freshly cooked food to choose from.
The staff were pleasant and reasonably discreet.
I suspect that this hotel bases most of its popularity on its surroundings as the rooms are quite poor. They are very outdated and in need of full modernisation. We had door handles that didn't work properly, ones that had been refitted and then fixed up poorly and dressing tables that were marked and stained very badly. The showers were poor quality. The carpets in the corridor were stained and in one area very wet, no idea why, but this was for the entire duration of our stay so wasn't just an accident. . All this let's the hotel down. The area is beautiful and I would most certainly return however I think if I was lucky enough to do so I may try one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayCeesNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Drak Sun for a weekend whilst getting married. The staff at the resort are very helpful, from before we arrived to our departure. They really made our weekend special and went the extra mile. The resort is also very kid friendly, so our boys where entertained and had fun! The rooms are reaching the end of their shelf life, and need renovations but still remain comfortable. We would definitely return to stay in the hotel again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank SeanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We frequently stay at the Drakensberg Sun, and I have always found the staff to be very customer friendly and helpful. The restuarant staff are friendly and helpful. They serve a great buffet spread, and the patio menu is also excellent - well presented and tasty. On special requests like late check out they have been very accomodating. The rooms are good - the bathrooms could do with updating. Overall a pleasant place to be when exploring the Drakesnberg.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I travelled in April (for 2 nights) when the weather was very pleasant - warm days with slightly chilled evenings.The hotel was comfortable, clean and child friendly. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are lots of activities - canoeing, hiking, horse riding, volley ball, etc. As a vegetarian I was pleasantly surprised by the many breakfast and dinner buffet options. I wouldn't rate the hotel as a 4 star, rather a good 3 star. I think that it needs a serious upgrade and has a lot of potential given it's location and facilities. A bar fridge and clock in the room would have been helpful as well as some patio furniture. The gym is pathetic and the spa was closed on one of the long weekend days! But for short two day stay, it was pleasant and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are beautiful. Specify non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naz632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
931 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
589 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
667 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 17 in Winterton
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: $190 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing