We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting and good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great setting and good restaurant”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two teenage sons. We were in the chalets on site (time-share). To get to the hotel we had a walk of perhaps 5-10 minutes. The main building was visible for the walk but one had to go down a hill and up the other side of the manicured valley. Given the altitude of the hotel this left us out of puff. Made breakfast or dinner all the more welcome.

Food was good though after a week was getting a bit similar. We noticed a bit of a decline in the food after the weekend rush of people departed (we visited in August - the winter). The choice got smaller and there were fewer cooks.

Patrick the tall Maitre-D in the restaurant was a real find - a charming host.

For variety ate at the nearby golf club Monks Cowl Country Club and enjoyed both the food and the relaxed atmosphere. The golf course is a bit rough-and-ready but fine for those who don't take the sport too seriously. (Nice tee position where you go over a rope bridge to tee-off.)

Nice grounds and boats to take out (free) on the lake. Baboons abound so don't leave your house or car door open and unattended.

As others have said, if travelling in July-Sept, pack a jumper and maybe even light a fire if there is one in your unit, like the chalets have.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    257
    115
    28
    23
See reviews for
482
228
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went from 2nd to 7th Jan.2012.Great scenery,hikes and suRrounds are breathtaking.Loved the service during Dining times.Activities geared for kids and adults.Rooms are a bit dated and bathroom next door is too rowdy when used.besides these minor setbacks we had a wonderful time.Looking forward to getting there soon again.Mohamed Sayed

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is highly recommended for adults and kids alike. We went for 7 days in Jan 2011. From the welcome we got, including popcorn, candy and ice tea for the kids to the attention to detail in the rooms egs: Fruit juice, chocolate covered nougat,tea coffee and cookies everyday as well as a turn down service with chocolates on your pillows! All so unexpected in todays times but so welcomed.
The food was excellent at the buffets...breakfast flapjacks and omelettes to die for! Loads of vegetarian options and fresh trout every night! Only complaint was that the dessert buffet needs serious help. Everything was gelatinous and tasted like plastic.
Lots to do...amazing kids playground with water balls, a swing carousel and a train to ride, horse rides, ziplining, abseiling...you name it
Beautiful beautiful hotel and we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kidsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Not much to do here in winter, but if you and your family are into hiking and a few mild outdoor activities, The Drakensberg Sun is probably better than most in the area. Rooms are less than generous, but well enough equiped. Food is really good, and still prepared with traditional flair, so stay half-board if you can. The lake and the limited boating and water sports it offers is ok, as are the kids activities. the problem with this hotel really, is the management. Young and arrogant. they sort of expect you to get on with it with as little assistance from them as possible.
Horse riding and nearby markets and villages are enough to keep one busy for a few days, but honestly, there are far better South African holidays to have.

Room Tip: If it's just two of you, a room on the second floor with large balcony is best. Otherwise try fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allgone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Having stayed at the Drakensberg Sun before, we expected a great stay in a great location. Unfortunately, this did not happen. There was a problem with a water pump which meant the entire hotel was without water for most of the day. Management did not handle the communication well, leaving most of the guests quite upset. There were also small things that kept going wrong, like the safe in the room that didn't work, etc.
One thing though that was above our expectations was the food available at the restaurant, they really went out of their way to impress the guests and it worked (but only in the buffets, the a la carte experience for lunch was an absolute disaster from the inefficient staff to the poor food quality). Sincerely hope management makes some changes soon...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoziTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel is set in the Cathkin Valley 4 and a half hours from Johannesburg and 2 and a half hours from Durban. It has wonderful views of the mountains and has big, well-kept gardens as well as a smallish lake (dam) to boot. It offers various activities : hiking, swimming (two pools), bowling, a gym (that needs an upgrade) horse riding as well as a pitch-and-put golf course. The rooms are fairly spacious, with exquisite views, but the bathrooms, although functional, could do with a bit of a make-over. The rooms still have those huge, clumsy air-conditioners that sound like light aircrafts taking off everytime you switch them on. The walls are paper-thin, when your neighbour opens the tap you can hear it, but that is the case in many hotels worldwide I suppose.
Their meals are delightful and I find the dining area lovely. The staff is friendly and attentive, they twice phoned during our three day stay to enquire if everything was in order. Activities are offered every day, for young and old, but if that is not your scene, you can merely breathe in the fresh mountain air and simply relax.
The cost ? Ah!! You pay R900 (around $130 US) per person for dinner, bed and breakfast. Is this good value for money? The food is divine but, like with everything else in life, value lies in the eye of the beholder, much like beauty. So look at your options, there are various other hotels in the Central Drakensberg area, and then make your decision.
We've come here a few times and we always feel relaxed and refreshed when we have left, but again, you must make the decision about value and I suggest that you investigate other alternatives as well before making your decision.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor, quick access to the grounds and offers lovely oppurtunity for a sundowne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spend the weekend of 25th to 28th November 2011 at the Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Resort in the Freestate Province in South Africa - it was so worth the couple of hours drive from Johannesburg! The chalet we stayed in were situated near the swimming pool and looked out on the the dam where you can go for a sunset cruise (or a cruise during the day), fishing, bird watching, lots of hiking trails and the most beautiful view of the majestic Drakensberg mountain!!! As a lover of wooden furniture - I was totally smitten by all the little shops around the area - I think I spent all my Christmas and holiday money on some amazing pieces of funniture.

Go to the Waffle Hut for pancakes, waffles, wraps and breakfast - I bet you will go back again and again - do not forget to look at the shop next door which is stocked to the rim with carpets make on the premises (and you can watch the ladies weaving). All sorts of nick nacks are also sold in the shop to spoil yourself or take home to your friends and family (if you are a nice person!!!). The scenery is out of this world, the hikes are lovely (and range from beginners to advance hiking trails).

If you just want to relax and enjoy a lovely glas of red wine or whatever you drink - you can sit on your patio and drink in the views around you. For those who do not like to cook, barbeque - the hotel food and surrounding eateries provide lots of choice. I already know where I am going for my next short break!!!!

Staff were very friendly and helpful and if you stay in the chalets - it has everything you need - you only need to bring your own swimming towel.

For people who have difficulty walking - it is hilly and there are quite a bit of steps in the chalet and outside to be aware of.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chalet 105 - and I am going back there. You can also book in at the hotel and get total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
863 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
573 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
615 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#2 of 17 in Winterton
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Property: Drakensberg Sun Resort
Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing