We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Regenerating hideaway with your own private vista”
other travelers have booked this property
Six sleeper interior - open plan with fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Six sleeper interior - open plan with fireplace
Six sleeper - main bedroom Two sleepers - Hoopoe/Kingfisher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Six sleeper interior - open plan with fireplace
Six sleeper - main bedroom
Two sleepers - Hoopoe/Kingfisher
Fully equiped Kitchens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winterton, Drakensberg Region, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
saffa_tra...
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Regenerating hideaway with your own private vista”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were pleasantly surprised by this lovely getaway. Most people in the region I spoke to do not know about Amacasa - and that is its charm. It is not part of the humdrum, yet the premises are top-class. It is a bit off the beaten track. But once there, it is immaculate. Our cottage was perfect for two. The underfloor heating was a plus, and we did not even need to light the cozy fire-place (which smoked the room out a bit at times). The cottage was fully equipped and we prepared lovely meals. We felt that our privacy was in tact - despite the large open vista right in front of every window and door of the cottage. We made use of the jacuzzi - a lovely addition on a winter's day. The cottages are close to anything you might want to do in the region: canpoy tours (recommended), walks at Monks Cowl, shopping centre (do try the well-priced, tasty chocolate fondue), Drakensberg Boys' Choir. Overall: a peaceful, re-generating getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SadieKS
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxurious. Peaceful accommodation”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Running, romantic and luxurious. We sat in the jacuzzi staring at the stars in the beautiful night sky. We could easily have stayed a week instead of 2 nights. It was the perfect getaway! Highly recommended. We will be back in Winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi, view, comforts of home, fireplace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Les and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and lookforward to welcoming you back in winter - with the underfloor heating and log fireplace you will really enjoy it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drliter
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic, best situated and best equipped holiday homes we've ever went to”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a truely jaw dropping experience we had at the ama casa cottages near winterton.
The apartment is fully equipped and has a view to die for. You wake up with views towards the mountains from your bed. At night you can watch the stars from your private yacuzzi after finishing your braai on the patio. Indoors there's a nice fireplace with plenty of wood to get you going for a few nights. The location is great for plenty of outdoor activities (horse riding, hiking). But at Ama Casa its best to just lean back and enjoy the quietness. We highly recommend this place to anyone who's looking for comfort, luxury and romance.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2013
Les and I and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in South Africa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MySouthAf...
Meerensee, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ama Casa - Sunbird Cottage 5*”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This truly was a beautiful spot.

The house, including all three rooms and living room, boasts spectacular views over Cathkin Peak. Finishing’s, bathrooms, cutlery, crockery, furniture, etc is top class. Great Privacy

We had an exceptionally good time and felt like royalty when we left. I would recommend Sunbird Cottage at Ama Casa for anyone wanting a quiet break and/or exploring this part of the Drakensberg.

5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location, views, quality living area, kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
580Ann
Benschop, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing