We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead mouse in the kitchen?”
Review of Acorn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Cottages
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very disappointed with our stay here for the weekend in Barn Owl cottage. There was an extremely bad smell in the kitchen area, presumably a dead mouse trapped between the zinc cladding and internal wall. When we complained to the owner gave us the option of moving to the garden suite but that was so damp and musty we decided to stick it out for the second night as we were leaving very early the next day. While I understand that the dead creature was in some way out of the owner's hands, I do feel he should have offered us at least a partial refund for the inconvenience, but he was disinterested.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

For the price we are paying (R840 for two people per night), this place is disappointing. There are so many spiders and bugs around (found a spider on my bed), even those menacing-looking, orange - and - black ones with stingers...The bed is of low quality (backpackers beds are way more comfy) and the place is narrow and small. We stayed at the guinea fowl room.
The only plus point is its optimal location to access walks to monk's cowl.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leong_Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and in-laws. The new owners were pleasant and keen to please. It was a good value and cozy cottage - but nothing fancy - and made for a great family time. (Stayed in Francolin cottage.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We planned a self catering extended weekend with a view of the mountains. We were given the garden suite - no view except of trees. The room was tiny - no place to adequately store clothes. Part of kitchen was really in the bedroom! It was like sleeping in a large caravan. We were also plagued by flies in our room due presumably to the proximity of local farm animals.
Breakfast was a basic offering. While we stayed in high season we felt the price was high considering what we got. We also left a day early and while it was policy not to refund in high season - no offer was made to accomodate us and no interest shown in why we were leaving early.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Deligthful hostess who is very knowledgeable about the area. Nikki rang us to make sure we had directions and recommended a restaurant to visit on our way in and signposting is very good.

The herb garden is an interesting feature and the house was designed by Nikki.

We changed our itinerary to return for a further two nights after visitiing the Southern Drakensburg so it must have been good.

The breakfast in the garden under the tree looking across the farm was excellent. Lovely dog and cats.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed mid week for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful location and convenience of this idyllic spot in the Drakensberg. Just off the R600, its position is ideal for sightseeing the Champagne Valley as well as into the Cathedral Peak region. There is also a very pretty garden for relaxing! Nikki, the owner is more than helpful in visitor assistance and directions to nearby 'must-see' places. Our room was more than adequate for self-catering needs with parking right outside the entrance to the apartment. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed in the self-catering Gallery Suite. There is also a cottage which is self catering which l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We wanted something cosy and close to the mountains, and that was just the place. Nikki, the owner, was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. We had the garden suite, it was nicely decorated, very comfortable and perfectly clean. The garden is big with a nice rock pool. The breakfast was huge and delicious, and we could prepare our own braii. To sum up, we had a very nice stay, close to the mountains or any facilities. We would definitely recommend this place to everybody. Thank you for the great stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieB_PatrickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterton hotels
7.6 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
974 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
598 reviews
5.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#3 of 9 in Winterton
83 reviews
11.6 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
3.9 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Cottages

Address: Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Winterton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 4 self catering units located in the heart of the central Drakensberg. Pet friendly to small breed dogs, we also have a rock pool and a small fitness center for the guests. All the cottages are equipped for self catering including a fridge , stove /mini oven , kettle, toaster, pots and pans, crockery and cutlery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing