We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore the Drakenberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to relax and explore the Drakensberg area. The staff are lovely, helpful and welcoming and the rooms are large, well maintained and nicely decorated. The location was great to explore the area, and when the weather was bad, it was a nice, cosy place to come back and relax in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

A charming property, with lovely people who made us feel so welcome, and as though nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent - and cooked at very short notice the first evening. Would definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We received a very friendly welcome upon arrival. The rooms were clean, cosy but spacious and there was a super selection of teas. The sherry was also a wonderful touch. The outside verandah was handy to dry off all our muddy gear after day 1 of the Berg & Bush cycle race!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very courteous and friendly staff.. Good breakfasts an dinners and excellent bar drinks. Thanks to Brian who rescued us after our car went into a ditch some 3 km from the Cottage and then rescued the car all of which was done without extra charges.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hi there
My experience at the Winterton was great. I went with my husband and daughter. The room we stayed in was "JOY" and it was in great condition, very neat, clean and tidy. The meals were also good as well as the staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is very unique and so peaceful. it was great staying there having some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Latoya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had the Honeymoon Suite for one night and it was amazing. The room is well kitted out and the hosts are incredibly helpful and friendly. We had wonderful dinner and breakfast and even got Filter Coffee delivered to our room. The Honeymoon suite is a must for couples as it has a huge jet bath and lovely double shower. Very nice for couples who want to get away for the weekend.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is divine for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanHLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've had a wonderful 3 night stay in Rose Cottage in september 2013.

Rooms very big, clean and with all extra's you need. Staff is beyond friendly and helpful. We've had dinner there 3 times and it was very good, no need to go out and search for a restaurant.

It's an ideal spot to take daytrips to the mountains, lots of entertainment and beautiful nature in the area. We will definitely come back when we're in South-Africa!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsmeraldaVanStee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterton hotels
18.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
944 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
591 reviews
16.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
12.1 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 16 in Winterton
108 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ardmore Guest Farm
#1 of 8 in Winterton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage

Address: 2 km from Winterton | R600 towards Ladysmith, Winterton, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: $60 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best B&B X The Berg! Ultimate in peace and tranquility with abundant birdlife! We offer comfortable stays in our 4 stylish rooms with a touch of luxury and space, or book into one of our Thatched Rondavels for a real African experience with a fireplace, or try a cottage for a small family of 4 with selfcatering options, where you can do your own barbeque or some cooking if you are tired of eating out! We also do wholesome home cooking dinners on request and on pre arrangement only. Enjoy our paradise like establishment with lovely garden, small dam for leisure canoeing and fishing, sparkling rock pool to cool down and have a lazy afternoon in the sun after a active day in the Berg! We are close to all berg resorts and activities/amenities for you to explore and to experience! Free WI-FI!Children 3-11 pay only 50% of adult rate. Your Leisure is our Pleasure!! An experience not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing