We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights as we wanted to visit Royal Natal National Park. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. We also had a three course evening meal on our first night which was very good. Dinner option wasn't available the second night. We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1johnandsue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    90
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
165
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location super service excellent food.
Incredible value for money. could recommand this to everyone being a spoiled person myself. friendly family service.
sorry we had to leave after just the one day next time we book a longer stay.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hollandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a peaceful and tranquil stay. Its close to all amenities and Drakensburg sites and tours etc.
Accommodation cost is very reasonable and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacinta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

They do need to improve on their meals. Breakfast was fine, but suppers at R130 per head were very poor. They need to improve on the supper menu and make sure its are cooked correctly. The accommodation was excellent and well managed and I would book with them again as we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetown
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel at home. The place is very beautiful and tranquil with modern rooms which were lovely and clean. There is lots to do close by and I would Definitely recommend it.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at WCL. Brian greeted us warmly as we arrived, the location is beautiful, the food is amazing and the honesty system is a great idea.
we enjoyed walks around the dam with the house dogs Bello and Ella. We had a fantastic time exploring the surrounds of Monks Cowl. We will be sure to visit again.
WCL is your home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautifully decorated and spacious accommodation. Amazing and efficient staff that went the extra mile to ensure our stay was wonderful. Absolutely enjoyed all our divine meals which was prepared with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
18.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
877 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
578 reviews
16.3 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#4 of 17 in Winterton
99 reviews
15.5 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
15.5 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage

Property: Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Address: 2 km from Winterton | R600 towards Ladysmith, Winterton, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best B&B X The Berg! Ultimate in peace and tranquility with abundant birdlife! We offer comfortable stays in our 4 stylish rooms with a touch of luxury and space, or book into one of our Thatched Rondavels for a real African experience with a fireplace, or try a cottage for a small family of 4 with selfcatering options, where you can do your own barbeque or some cooking if you are tired of eating out! We also do wholesome home cooking dinners on request and on pre arrangement only. Enjoy our paradise like establishment with lovely garden, small dam for leisure canoeing and fishing, sparkling rock pool to cool down and have a lazy afternoon in the sun after a active day in the Berg! We are close to all berg resorts and activities/amenities for you to explore and to experience! Free WI-FI!Children 3-11 pay only 50% of adult rate. Your Leisure is our Pleasure!! An experience not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing