We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure relaxation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Lounge with TV and fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Main Lounge with TV and fireplace
Lounge / Reading nook / DVD collection
Main bedroom with En-Suite.
2nd Bedroom
3rd Bedroom
Main Bedroom En-suite bathroom
Dining room
Kitchen
Pool area
Pool with mountain view
Dusk
Patio with seating, gas BBQ and Jacuzzi
Dusk patio
Pool area at night
Patio with Jacuzzi at night
Scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winterton, Drakensberg Region, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Andrewsau...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a wonderful place fully equipped with everything you could need for a few days away to relax and unwind. Spectacular views over the dam and waking up with the herd of eland grazing in front of the house just amazing. We will be back this is a gem of a spot I would love to bring friends to

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanaWood
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Cathkin House is located just above a little dam, and has a spectacular, unobstructed view of the Berg. The house, and surrounds, looks exactly like the pictures show. We especially enjoyed breakfast and supper time, eating out on the patio with the view of mountains beyond. We spotted a wild hare browsing on the lawn beside the house, and it was also very nice to see (and hear) the black water bird with a white face (coot?) swimming in the dam below. Such a peaceful place. Even with a few neighbours around, it was incredibly quiet... in a good way. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in the Central Berg”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great self catering house in one of the best, most secure and convenient locations in the berg.
Really well equipped with everything needed. Great pool, Jukuzzi, fire and gas braai's and tons of video's for a rainy day.
3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms are all that is needed for most. Verandah with stunning viees and a double shaded car port.
Highly recommended. Enjoy.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JdreG
1 review
“Amazing Luxury Mountain Property!”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Located in a basin of mountains one disappears from the world. A really nice and quiet spot tucked behind its nice and beautiful garden. A wonderful guesthouse with all the amenities you need. Loved it here because it is quiet, peaceful, and private, yet with only a short drive to area attractions. Very good value and I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbalizo
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Splendid and tranquil”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I had such a wonderful stay at Cathkin House during the winter school holidays. The house is well equipped and is the perfect place to be in the cold Drakensberg. The estate is secure and wonderfully located with incredible views of Izintaba Zokhahlamba (Drakensberg mountains). Looking forward to going back soon!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Hi Mbali, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiavdWalt
Rustenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Perfect with an amazing ambiance!”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Luxury , well situated home in beautiful surroundings. Location of the property is extremely good and it has an uninterrupted view of the Berg. It is well equipped and it does cater for all your needs. Well worth a visit and highly recommendable!!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Hi Tia, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashika L
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A haven of tranquillity and style surrounded by stunning scenery”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family and I spent a weekend at Cathkin House at the end of June and what a truly pleasurable experience it was!

Beautifully situated in a private eco-estate, Cathkin House, although unassuming from the outside, opens up into a large and spacious accommodation with absolutely amazing views offered through each window and door.

The bedrooms, bathrooms and living areas are immaculate and tastefully fitted out with high class furnishings, all the while maintaining a ‘home-away-from-home’ feel. It is obvious that a lot of love has gone into the design and setting up of this home.

The kitchen and utility room contained more than your everyday kitchen/tableware and a lovely Victoria sponge and shortbread were produced from the oven for an impromptu birthday party.

There was a fabulous wood burner in the lounge that we didn't need to use in the end as it turned out to be an unseasonably warm weekend, but the under floor heating was very much appreciated in the chilly mornings.

The extensive DVD library was a nice touch and a welcome surprise for the kids who were worn out from a hike up the hill (felt like a mountain!) just up the road.

We did struggle with some of the electronic equipment (they were far too advanced!), but Marc was just at the other end of an email and couldn't do enough to help and ensure that we were happy.

The jacuzzi was a special experience by itself (when the water eventually warmed up), seeing the stars and even part of the milky way while being surrounding by the inky darkness of the mountains was idyllic.

The only disappointment for us was, and it was hard to think of one, despite seeing plenty of evidence in the surrounding fields, we didn’t actually see any animals roaming the grounds.. next time, definitely next time!

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Hi Ashika, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing