We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Stella d'Italia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$307
$295
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residenza Lago di Lugano(Cima)(Great Value!)
$172
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moosmann(Gandria)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Lanzo d'Intelvi)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mimosa(San Mamete Valsolda)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
123
58
27
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
58
27
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake luganooverlooking the lakefirst floorlunch and dinneritalian lakeslovely hotelidyllic locationacross the roadboutique hotelthe water's edgeeasy accessbeautiful gardenweather permittingsit outsidesuperior roommany yearsromantic escape
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 220 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just got back from this wonderfull hotel, this is our 7th time staying here. the superior rooms are very spacious clean and tidy, ask for room 308 wow. with its own balcony and stunning views of the lake. the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. You can swim or fish in the lakes crystal clear waters, or use the hotels free boat and row out and explore the lake. San Mamete is a very quite little village with 2 bars and a few small shops across the road in the piazza from the hotel, a further bar/resturant can be found 2 mins walk from the hotel. Take a twenty min walk along side the lake heading back towards Lugano and you will find Simones bar, very good place to meet locals, great snacks and drinks. Even sells Pimms no1. Take a walk up to the vilage at the top of the mountain and check out the views. If you are looking for noise, loud music, rah rah, lager louts etc. then dont stay here. If on the other hand you want peace and quite, fantastic scenery, amazing food from the region, very friendly local people, and want return home having had a great relaxing holiday then this is the place to stay. see you soon Stella d.ittalia.

Room Tip: try and stay in a superior room well worth it, try room 308
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waddo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Have just returned from holiday which included a few days in this hotel. We have visited Lugano and the other Italian lakes many times, but decided to try this one . Rooms are clean, spacious and dated, reminiscent of an English B & B. We booked a superior room with tiny balcony for 160 euros. Parking is a further 10 euros a day. Total bill for three days in excess of £600 for a very mediocre stay.
The hotel is situated on a very busy main road on the lakeside with no village or nearby town to explore in safe walking distance meaning that if you want to drink with your meal, you have to eat in the hotel as there are no other restaurants in the vicinity. Whilst the food is good, the menu is not particularly varied.
There is a delightful garden that is the outdoor restaurant and where the owner clearly states guests take turns to have a lakeside table. One reason why we booked. However, this is definitely NOT the case! You sit where you are told and are not allowed to choose your table. We spent three days sitting on the first table next to the kitchens with the waiters constantly pushing past our chairs. When we asked to move tables the Maitre d' was very cryptic, telling us we had not stayed long enough to qualify for a better table. All this whilst the lakeside tables were sometimes were empty. All extremely petty! The first time we've been told where we must sit since we were both at school!!
The hotel provides a few sun loungers next to the lake, but we found these were shrouded with other guests' towels by 8.30 in the morning.
There was an elderly man who sat in the foyer watching guests coming and going into the hotel, never speaking or smiling - just staring. At meal times he would stand and stare at the guests disapprovingly in the restaurant. We named him the Camp Commandant. It turned out he was the owner. His son was just as bad - the only time he deigned to speak to us was when he took our Barclaycard and said "hope to see you again". My husband retorted "I wouldn't think so!"
In short, there are masses of other lakeside hotels that are much, much nicer and where the owners think it important that guests should enjoy their stay. We suggest you try one!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

indeed, the views are nice and the evening it is nice to dinner next to the lake, even when we found the prices overdone, for the meals we had. The rooms are really weating for a urgent restoration. Tiles were loss at our teras, and the bathroom is also waiting for some painting. There were some little holes in the sheets, coming from many washing. As some other of the guest said, : the staff, especcialy the male owners, father and son, are controlling everything,and are not friendly at all which you can feale at the nervous acting of the staff in gereral. That was what bouthered us the most. They were trowned out of michelin and that says enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kemmeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were shown a room next to someone's balcony. We asked for a room with a bit more privacy and were told, even though we had booked and paid in advance, that this was the room and if you don't like it you can leave. We have never experienced anything like this in our extensive travels. There is no car parking, it is left in the piazza, and will tell anyone who is interested not to book into this hotel. They refused to refund our money even though we never used the room.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smamete, Proprietario at Hotel Stella d'Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Vernon,
We are surprised to read your review one year after your arrival to our hotel.
Anyway, we would like to explain to other readers some of your observations.
Hotel Stella d’Italia has 31 lakeside rooms and 27 balconies.
Looking at a hotel picture you can see how rooms and balconies are displayed.
You may have not noticed it, but the hotel disposes of a private garage with 17 spaces.
It is not hotel policy to charge room in advance and you had never prepaid for your stay.
You were charged of one night stay at the time you decided not to check in the superior room you had booked, as it was considered a late cancellation.
No other room option was given simply because hotel was fully booked.
Kind regards
HOTEL STELLA D'ITALIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a bit of a rainy spell. We didn't have a chance to eat at the beautiful gardens or swim in the lake but you can tell how lovely that would be. The rooms are large with wonderful views of the lake and the common areas are very conformable. I have to say the food was just average for what I have had in italy. The breakfast was ok and dinner was average. The town is very small so plan on spending most of your time at the hotel. For me 2 nights would be enough. I would go back just for the views through.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms overlook the lake but I think I would choose a room high up just for the views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews