We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort with a beach for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good resort with a beach for the kids”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Resort is secluded so dont expect to party at night. There are only 2 resorts on this beach and this is the better resort. Rooms are ok, just dont forget to ask for a room thats facing the beach. Food is limited and ok, only 1 resto within the resort. Theres a bar near the pool in case you'd like to have bottle or two. Theres a 3'-5' infinity pool and a kiddie pool on the side. Be careful on the pool sides though, its layared with pebbles so its a bit rough for the skin and swimwear. Its a good place to relax and have ammenities for team buildings or company getaways. Beach is kid-friendly. 50m from the shore and water is just waist deep. Nice to do morning beach walks when its low tide. Plenty of crabs on early mornings, small fishes for the rest of the day. All in all, its a good resort to relax with the family or friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jainoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
70
18
1
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last December 2013 for my birthday celebration.

LOCATION: We've been to Laiya several times and always happy to be there.

RESORT: It was okay. The place is big. As in huge! The people are very nice and accommodating. The place is very very nice.

POOL. The pool is big but I noticed that it's kinda rough. Got bruises and also my kids. I think they should check on the tiles and make it smooth. Just saying.

ROOM. It's clean, big, and the cr is nice too. Sad becaus we can't open the balcony it would've been amazing view. Still a thumbs up.

FOOD. Hmmmm....It was okay but expensive.

Overall: 3/5

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank imnoturordinarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The architecture is nice, the rooms in the main building are quite impressive as well - fluffy pillows, strong A/C, the comfort room is amazing.

Food is great, bulalo and bicol express are must-tries in the menu.

the beachfront is impressive too.

Pool is nice too, though the flooring is rough, a small rough play and you'll end up with some scratches.

Room Tip: if you are a pool person, get the gazebos. wake up and jump right in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeleron_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our company outing last March, its a bit pricey for me, but the Amenities are worth it. Nice stretch of fine sand, great pool and nice rooms.

The only downside for me is that the pool edges are too rough. That's about it.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went here with my friends, a month ago. Oyeah, it was big and they have a really nice pool. The food is fine. So do the service. There are so many places to take pictures. I just love the architecture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Well, my friends booked our stay here and so I was just being led by them. I had no expectations whatsoever. So when we got here, I was surprised to see this kind of architecture in Batangas, Philippines. It's very cool! It's not very tropical like. It's modern and yet relaxing. The color of the paint of the walls is nice. It's a good backdrop. I think this place is nice for weddings.

The buffet was so affordable because it comes with the package of our stay. There was Mongolian (they will cook it for you) and then pasta, and of course Filipino food.

The restaurant was very cozy. The dining set was hard wood. It was very heavy, so you know it's not cheap. I really like it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95CherylAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Going here is easy. It took us roughly 2-3hours from manila. We paid Php9,000+ for 1 night, total of 4 persons (room is good for 2, additional person rate is Php1,000+).

The beach view from our room is superb. Our room overlooks their infinity pool but the terrace is temporary locked (or maybe permanent).

The infinity pool is okay, BUT the tiles and inner wall of the pool is very rough, which can cause minor bruises, which I experienced, if you happen to slip or something.

Beach is okay, IF and only IF it's currently high tide
If you happen to experience swimming there on a low tide, you'll walk 5 to 10 mins before reaching chest deep water. Sand is not that white.

Buffet food is crappy and overpriced. Don't pay for the dinner buffet which costs roughly Php500/head. The buffet catered fried chicken, head of tilapia, garlic rice, seafood pasta and mixed vegetables. You can easily distinguish the quality of how the food is cooked.

Despite food variety and taste, their room and service is excellent.
But I'd rather try Acuatico next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceMendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laiya
56.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
2.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sabangan Beach Resort
65.2 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
411 reviews
39.4 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort

Property: Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
Address: Laiya, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > San Juan > Laiya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrellas De Mendoza Playa Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing