We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated”
Review of Stockmansmolen - CLOSED

Stockmansmolen
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Belgian, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

a good restaurant, but overrated. wants to be top level, but doesn't quite make it.
food etc. is good and for business it is very quiet. but i have always felt it tried to be more than it is.

Helpful?
2 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    7
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice setting, great food!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my first visit, along with 4 colleagues. The restaurant is a converted watermill; old-style walls with loads of wall-size modern windows.
The choice of meals is diverse, although the number of dishes consist of about 5 fish-dishes, 5 meat-dishes and some mussel-dishes (or something like that).
I advise the starter consisting of warm and cold prawns and the sole meuniere (about 500g)
We chose a red wine (Languedoc) but had to go for an alternative because the Languedoc was out-of-stock.

Overall: a very nice meal in a very nice setting. Quality and quantity were great!
We paid 325 euro for 5 people.. not over-expensive and worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DidierF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“ideal place near airport for a business lunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This restaurant is located in a renovated watermill. Nice settings to receive a businesspartner nearby the airport of Brussels. Seems the place exists since many years but the present owners are only in it since a year or so. The menu is not cheap, but not exagerated expensive neither, so ideal for businesspeople; I would not go there for a romantic date. The choice is not that big; if I remember correctly only about a dozen of main dishes, most of it Belgian-French cuisine. We both took the "varkenswangetjes met pickles" which is apparently the favorite dish of the chef. But we took it because we were uncapable of translating the dish into english (I still can not ....). I took a Duvel beer but my guest the housewine, which it seems was not that fantastic (something italian or spanish). As said, a good place for businesslunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice style and comfort with a great steak”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A bit expensive but at least a one time visit to the Stockmansmolen while in town would be a nice treat. The history alone is a great dating back into the 1200's, but having the mill wheel still there is an added treat. I had a steak served on sauteed vegetables with a brown gravy sauce that was pretty good. Like I said other than the price being a bit high you should enjoy this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auburnfan2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu for a correct price!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were a group of 18 people, in a nice separate room, and got a nice choice menu with 2 possibilities for the starter as well as for the main course.
Perfect quality, friendly and efficient service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockmansmolen also viewed

Sint-Stevens-Woluwe, Zaventem
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
Zaventem, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing