We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good find...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel-Pension Brandenburg
Brodnica, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really good find...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Well, we didn't intend to stay in Brandenburg at all - but when our car broke down we had to find a hotel quickly. It was late at night and we didn't really know the area, so we asked some locals for the nearest hotel and they suggested The City Hotel-Pension. Later on we were so glad they did!

The hotel is clean, the room was big and the bathroom newly decorated. The breakfast was very good too, and as we had to stay there a couple of nights, the hotel turned out to be in a great location for visiting the town as well.

The best thing about the hotel though is the staff - really friendly and helpful - and with our problem with the car we needed a lot of help! Our German is not great but the owner speaks perfect English and he very kindly offered to make a number of calls on our behalf to help us fix the car.

Ar a result, what was initially a very annoying situation turned out to be quite a pleasant one as we discovered a nice little town with a nice little hotel to which I'm sure we'll go back in the future, though hopefully without the 'car breaking down' part!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biedr0nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
15
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and centrally located and the breakfast is great, that goes without saying. So what makes this hotel a gem? The staff. They treat you like a guest not a visitor. They will do whatever they can to ensure your stay is memorable. Whether you want to be left alone or want to immerse yourself in this fascinating town, you couldn't be in better hands. Talk to the charismatic owner, Arne. He is traveler himself and really knows his town - and what's more, people in the town know him! His recommendations for places to eat are spot on!

Room Tip: Bear in mind no lifts so if you have mobility difficulties let staff know when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiseTurttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A modest but very clean hotel near to the city centre and with very helpful staff. Highly recommended for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A small, clean and comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the station in one direction, and of the city centre in the other, with a tram stop nearby. Very friendly and helpful staff and a very good breakfast. Bright, clean bedroom and en suite. Comfortable bed. Surprisingly quiet.
The only negative point is the lack of a lift, but there is no room for one and, anyway, our suitcases were carried upstairs for us (we are both nearly 70 and our room was on the third floor).
This must be the best value in Brandenburg. I wish we could have stayed longer than one night but we hadn't booked and the hotel was full.

Room Tip: Book beforehand; this is a small hotel. Ask for a downstairs room if you're no longer young and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandenburg City
0.7 mi away
Sorat Hotel Brandenburg
Sorat Hotel Brandenburg
#1 of 7 in Brandenburg City
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Molkenmarkt
Hotel am Molkenmarkt
#2 of 7 in Brandenburg City
35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Axxon Hotel Brandenburg
Axxon Hotel Brandenburg
#4 of 7 in Brandenburg City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seehotel Brandenburg an der Havel
0.8 mi away
Altstadtpension Am St. Gotthard
Altstadtpension Am St. Gotthard
#3 of 7 in Brandenburg City
14 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Bollmannsruh
Hotel Bollmannsruh
#1 of 1 in Pawesin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel-Pension Brandenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel-Pension Brandenburg

Property: City Hotel-Pension Brandenburg
Address: Grosse Gartenstr. 2, 14776 Brandenburg City, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Brandenburg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Brandenburg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a central room? * Welcome to the nice city of Brandenburg an der Havel* 12 Rooms and 2 Holiday Apartments* individual 24/7 service in TOP – Downtown -Location* dedicated and international focused employees* Bicycle- and Motorbike garage in the yard* only 2 min. to the local central station and the City-Centre Your satisfaction – Our passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel-Pension Brandenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing