We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WILL BE BACK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

stopped over for 1 night, friendly staff with a warm welcome
booked a table in the restaurant, the bar seamed full with wedding guest, complimentary breads & olives, nice touch, smk salmon starter, fresh and full of flavour with a nice blue potato salad, belly pork next, the crispy crackling to die for, very nice, finished off with chocolate fondant, melt in the mouth moment.
in all a very enjoyable stay, will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelloyd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 648 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My new husband and myself choose The West Retford Hotel as our wedding venue and we had a wonderful day!
Nick the MoC was fantastic, all staff were brilliant.
The venue is a beautiful setting and so clean and kept in beautiful condition.
The only complaint, which I heard from many guests was the chicken in the main meal was very dry and hard, those cooked first were inedible. However, I have since spoken with the venue and I am more than happy with their offer to make it up to us.
Chicken aside though, the day was perfect, true professionals and I would recommend them to anyone considering celebating the most important day of their life there.
Thank you Nick and team for all your hard work, it's a day we will remember fondly for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickySmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our daughter wanted a very "individual" wedding, and asked the hotel to include the many table decorations, party favours, disposable cameras, table confetti etc etc etc. A small army of staff set up the room exactly as requested, and also made the outdoor ceremony possible, accommodating string quartet, magicians and a number of other entertainments. I was slightly worried that a "package wedding" may cut corners, but I had nothing to worry about whatsoever. It is worth noting, however, that the grounds - albeit very pretty and good for wedding photos - are next to a busy arterial road, so the noise of heavy traffic can be heard during outdoor ceremonies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The setting, the staff, the bridal suite were all perfect, unfortunately the food was inedible, the soup was mushy, very dry chicken and almost raw veg, a real a shame as everything else was perfect, special mention to the bar staff and huge thanks to Nick whose organisation was impeccable and made my daughter's wedding day run smoothly. Also breakfast was nothing special, cold undercooked bacon and cheap sausages and black pudding, we had included in our room price but wouldn't have been worth the £9.99 price.

Room Tip: The bridal suit was amazing and once the food is improved a perfect wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The beautiful setting and hotel facilities were most pleasantly surprising to us as we enjoyed the ambiance of the building and the grounds as the day unfolded. With the staff all working as a highly polished team who've clearly made enormous efforts to make their wedding facilities into a lovely experience for their guests, it all made for an amazing day for Vicky's & Samuel's wedding and all their guests. The whole day and evening was nothing short of excellent all round. The food was plentiful and the quality was superb. I have no hesitation in warmly recommending and commending this hotel and it's management and staff to you all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just enjoyed a family celebration Sunday lunch with 43 family members and friends. The food and choices were great. The staff were very determined to give really good and attentive service. The Orangery venue was ideal. Well done the West Retford team. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidT058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay.
Beautiful rooms, staff really friendly. Thanks Nick for going out your way to make our stay welcome, and Glyn for making breakfast enjoyable.
I would have no problems staying there again when I'm next in Retford.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
3 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
13.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Price Range: $80 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing