We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked through late bookings as we had to attend a family funeral & the hotel is extremely good value. We paid £71 for the two of us which included full English breakfast. The room was lovely and clean, nice bathroom with a good hot shower & the breakfast was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    153
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
137
160
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have recently held a birthday lunch for my 80 year old mum in The Orangery Restaurant at the West Retford Hotel. This is a lovely hotel with everything, venue, food and service first class - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to Elaine, Simon and the restaurant team for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneB281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Have now stayed at the Best Western/West Retford several times, most recently in February 2013. The front desk staff, housekeeping, and bar/restaurant staff responded promptly to my every question and request, and are a highlight of each year's visit. My room was comfortable, nicely appointed, clean, and cozy. The restaurant's brand-new breakfast room, The Orangery, is beautiful. I recommend the hotel highly. Heating in the room was loud, but acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastaLusoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with really friendly staff and excellent service. The food is very good - with excellent breakfast choices cooked to order. Bar meals are also varied and good. We were attending a family wedding and the hotel provided a first class experience. Retford itself was a delight, especially the Friday market which was a genuine market in the traditional sense, with lots of collectors' items. I would recommend this hotel and the town to anyone who has never visited before, and wants a short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a lovely hotel this is. Attentive staff, beautiful rooms and fantastic food in the evening. Even with a room service charge it is very reasonable. I always try to stay here when I am in the area on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful historical hotel. The rooms are newly renovated and very comfortable. The staff couldn't be nicer. They were friendly, helpful, and always willing to address any question or issue. The breakfasts were excellent. And their function space is marvelous, and they have a beautiful grounds. Whether you need to book a conference, plan a wedding, or simply stay over for a night or two, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room upstairs, and it was an excellent choice. It was bright and quiet and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spur of the moment, Saturday night stay (only live 20 miles away). Went to see a band in Retford (The Elbow Tree - worth seeing). Spacious room (rooms are separate to main building), quiet, warm, comfy bed, clean. Breakfast excellent. Everything exactly as described. Easy walk into town centre, plenty of local pubs, small friendly town, not a great deal of shops but if you want retail therapy go to Meadowhall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
3.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing