We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous!”
Review of White Lion

White Lion
Ranked #48 of 101 Restaurants in Retford
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We serve a traditional Sunday Lunch, which is served to your table.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tried on Tripadvisor reviews. Have lived in Retford for many years and been past White Lion thinking it was going to be a rough pub! I could not have been more wrong! 3 of us had one of the best meals I've had in the area and certainly one of the most reasonably priced. Steaks were fantastic, great flavour and very tender. Decor inside great and much more room that was anticipated from the outside. Staff friendly and attentive, we will certainly be back very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We now have a new summer menu, which includes many of the old favourites, plus quite a few more.
Yes, I admit the outside is a bit grotty but we don't quite have the money to do it up yet, so I'm pleased you came in despite the outside!
Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for White Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for sunday lunch here on the strength of the previous reviews as we have been very disappointed with all of our recent visits to local restaurants/pubs for meals. Our son and daughter-in-law wanted to take us out for lunch, and he actually picked it using Tripadvisor, and we are very glad he did. It is a cosy, friendly pub next to a public car park in a back street. Nothing fancy or pretentious, just a good honest pub with lovely home cooking, obviously done by someone who knows their way round a good roast dinner. We were made to feel very welcome, asked if we were ok with dogs, as they are a dog-friendly pub (may well take ours with us next time), and shown to our table which had extremely comfy chairs (a nice change). The sunday menu is very small but we all found it just enough to choose things we liked and it was very reasonably priced. The portions are very generous, and more to the point perfectly cooked using good quality meats, a huge step above carvery level. All sauces we could want were on offer, as was an extra pot of very nice gravy. The yorkshires were definitely home made as they were all weird and wonderful shapes, and tasted all the better for it. They brought a big dish full of a great selection of vegetables for the table, so that everybody was catered for. All-in-all four happy diners and four cleared plates. If there were a half star option available on here I might well have actually only given 4.5 stars rather than 5 because the starters were ok, perhaps lacking a piece of bread with the fish trio, and the puddings were again not quite up to the standard of the main course, with the treacle sponge being hard in the middle, but really I would be nit-picking, and we will definitely be returning at some point, maybe to sample the weekday menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANITA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

What lovely comments. I'm pleased that you like our sunday lunch and especially our yorkshire puds. They are all lovingly homemade, as is our gravy, which now contains red wine.
Thank you also for your comment about the starters and desserts. We are looking into improving these and bread with the fish trio is a good idea.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a surprise! This is a town center pub, offering quality food at very reasonable prices. We visited on a Saturday evening without booking, our first visit, but certainly not our last. No pretensions here.The landlady herself said, they are a pub, and want to offer good pub food, at reasonable prices. This is exactly what was delivered.
For starters we had a trio of smoked fish with wasabi mayonnaise. This was a good size portion, very fresh and better than we have had in quality restaurants, also much cheaper. Main courses were, Venison suet pudding which came with a lovely mash, and selection of veg, both very fresh. My husband loved it. I had the Chicken Kiev, which came with a lovely fresh dressed salad, and home made chips, this I know is standard pub food, but done really well. We had a bottle of Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon, which was very quaffable and at a really good price. The girls behind the bar were very pleasant, and eager to please, all in all a really good atmosphere.
Keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

It was lovely to see you on Saturday night and it's great that we have new customers trying our food. We will be having a new, summer menu soon, but with lots of our 'favourites' staying on too. So....
...watch this space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a lovely evening we had for my birthday. The food and service was excellent. There were 9 of us and all enjoyed their different meals. They even supplied plates for the cake we brought in. Well done the White Lion we will be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davengill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We love celebrating birthdays and like to light candles ona cake and sing 'Happy Birthday'. It makes it a bit special for the birthday boy or girl!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have visited twice again for meals, once on a Sunday, once mid week. I can't fault the food, service or atmosphere at all. The chef serves up well presented tasty meals every single time. The veggie menu is superb and not your run of the mill. Well done and keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ExitBritainStageLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you, once again for your wonderful comments. We have such lovely customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion also viewed

Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing