We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere and dog friendly”
Review of White Lion

White Lion
Ranked #50 of 96 Restaurants in Retford
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We serve a traditional Sunday Lunch, which is served to your table.
Newark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere and dog friendly”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'd never been to the old White Lion mentioned by other reviewers, but this one is certainly my sort of pub. It is comfortable with nice decor and has a really friendly feel to it. Best of all for us; they allow dogs in the pub.

We have now been quite a few times and have tried all the vegetarian items on the menu and ALL are very nice. The Sunday Lunch is also very good for both vegetarian and meat eaters.

There are usually a couple of decent real ales on offer. I wonder if one day they will have Timmy Taylor's Landlord on offer to make it an even better pub :-) But perhaps I'm just biased!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreDuLacNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thnak you for your comments, especially about our friendly staff. I will pass the message on to everyone. It is a family run pub, involving mum, dad, the girls and friends, so it's lovely to hear that we're doing it right.
Regarding the real ales; we try really hard to please our customers, so we might be getting Timothy Taylor's in the future. I hope you are happy with the different ales we have offered so far.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great menu in a great local pub”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very refreshing to find a good pub with good food. the staff were very attentive and the pub is comfortable and welcoming. The menu is varied and has an excellent choice including a good vegetarian menu. Don't be fooled by the exterior - (current owners have not done the outside of the pub yet). The inside is clean and fresh. A really nice meal to be had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicci636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm pleased you like the food: we have just renewed our menu,so we now serve all the favourites, plus some new choices, including 'Winter warmers', a selection of delicious food, all served in a giant yorkshire pudding!
You have commented that the pub is comforatble and welcoming - well, we now have a real fire, which is proving to be very popular. In fact customers are fighting to sit in front of it!
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExitBritainStageLeft
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well done.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Always a bit wary of the White Lion due to its previous poor reputation but new owners and a total refurb - brilliant! Eaten here 3 times over the last few weeks - the weekday menu may be small but it is perfectly formed with a range of choices, good quality ingredients, well cooked and served by friendly staff. The Sunday Lunch was super. The White Lion has hit the spot - keep the menu small and varied that way you can deliver outstanding quality consistently! A very well done to the chef and staff (do we get a loyalty card lol?)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExitBritainStageLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We do have quite a varied menu and on a Sunday you have a choice of a Sunday lunch or something from the main menu. A loyalty card could be a possibility. We will look into it. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic home cooked food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have been to this pub for lunch about five times since it started doing food. So many pubs get it wrong its so good to find one that gets it right. The selection is great, my husband said it is the best fish and chips he has ever had in a pub, not a frozen chip in sight!. Sunday lunch is great, with meat fish and vegetarian options. I am vegetarian and the nut roast and vegetarian gravy are fantastic. The welcome is brilliant and the prices are really reasonable. Food is well presented and the setting is very nice. Well done to all involved!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
What lovely comments. Regarding the chips - my husband has just discovered his latest talent - hand cutting hundreds of potatoes, ready for the chips. So whenever you eat them remember to say thank you to him!
We want to keep the prices reasonable, as we want everyone to enjoy our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed and welcoming Great vegetarian selection!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice refurbishment and good value for money, don't feel rushed to finish your meals and the chef is brilliant

Will defiantly be going again
P.s dog friendly :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasmin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley h, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am a vegetarian myself, so insist on a good selection of veggie food. We have put a lot of effort into making the interior comfortable but modern and we're glad that you like the refurb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion also viewed

Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing