We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money B&B/Pub”
Review of The Moth & Lantern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moth & Lantern
Ranked #4 of 10 Retford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here last August with 2 children. Returned this year on my own and was impressed with the upgrade. The room was clean and fresh, the bathroom had new flooring. The meals served in the pub were as good as last time, tasty and filling. The breakfast was huge. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms in the separate anex now have use of a washing machine and dryer. The outside has been tidied up with the rear area set up for entertainment and car boot sales. A very pleasant stay and for £30 a night it is a no brainer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

A lovely family run guest house/pub with friendly staff who made us feel really welcome. The room we had was basic but clean and tidy with a nice shower and comfortable bed. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We would definately stay again

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank meg9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Owners were great, warm and welcoming. Cottage pie and chips to eat, a pint and a game of pool before a long, uninterrupted sleep, waking to a nice shower, great breakfast and a good chat with owners and tennants before getting on my way..
Comfortable and clean room with bathroom, i couldnt ask for more for the £30 it cost me for the night..
Thankyou, good luck for the future and i hope to see you all again..

Room Tip: Situated in a separate annexe behind the main building was just perfect.. I understand they had a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Situated in the lovely village if cottam, this family run guest house is excellent! The staff are so friendly and helpful also very welcoming, and the home cooked meals are amazing!!!
The rooms are very light and airy, and very clean. Yeah the rooms are basic but what more could you ask for the price it's great!! Will definitely return soon

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very dissapointed, although staff were very friendly the rooms were terrible, we paid £40 for a room that was dirty, damp and cold, the carpets were filthy as were the windows and frames, there were cobwebs everywhere, the shower hadn't been cleaned, the bed was clean however but we found somebodys TOENAILS on the floor inbetween the bed and chest of draws,all the furniture in the room hadn't even had a quick wipe over, I'm just glad we didn't have our 8 month old son with us. Very OVER PRICED, I wouldn't of payed £20 to stay there never mind £40. We didn't even stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank danwaztaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Simple, quite, clean bed and breakfast accommodation, helpful staff, cozy double bed, nice cooked breakfast. For 35.00GP per night it was a fair price. Will stay again next time I'm working in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Family run pub with separate acommodation annexe. Rooms were clean and tidy and very good value for money.. Breakfast was excellent and well presented. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotherGoose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Retford hotels
4.7 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
5 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#1 of 10 in Retford
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Number Four
Number Four
#5 of 10 in Retford
22 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elms Hotel
Elms Hotel
#9 of 10 in Retford
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tanamara Guest House
Tanamara Guest House
#7 of 10 in Retford
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moth & Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moth & Lantern

Address: Town Street, Retford DN22 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Retford
Price Range: $53 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moth and Lantern is a quiet country pub and restaurant with a detached 8 bedroom guest house. All bedrooms are en-suite. Just 15 minutes east of Retford and 5 minutes from Sundown Childrens Adventure Land.Free parking, free Wi-FI in the pub/restaurant.Sky Sports available in the pub. Freeview (70+channels) available in guest house bedrooms. All food is homemade and represents excellent value for money. Accommodation costs are quoted without breakfast and start from £20.00 per person per night. Breakfast is £6.00 extra per night per person. We are a family run establishment and always make sure our guests are made and feel welcome. We pride ourselves on good quality services at value prices. We regret that pets are not allowed to stay in our Guesthouse ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moth & Lantern Retford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing