We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place looks great, food and service are terrible.”

The Old Police Station
Ranked #71 of 115 Restaurants in Retford
Price range: $5 - $35
Description: Emerging from the town's former police station after extensive renovation, The Old Police Station, offers diners delicious modern, British food in the stylish 32-seated restaurant or in one of the two original cells, providing a unique and fun dining experience. Situated opposite the town's award winning Kings Park, it is centrally located with parking nearby.
Restaurant details
Description: Emerging from the town's former police station after extensive renovation, The Old Police Station, offers diners delicious modern, British food in the stylish 32-seated restaurant or in one of the two original cells, providing a unique and fun dining experience. Situated opposite the town's award winning Kings Park, it is centrally located with parking nearby.
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

I didn’t think it was possible to mess up sausage sandwich and chips, or a cheese burger, but apparently it is.

Triple cooked chips, you’d think with three attempts they’d be able to cook them properly on one of the three attempts, but nope, they serve up a soggy mess.

Sausages were poor as well. Side salad was limp, but at least the dressing was tasty.

Cheeseburger was rubbery and that hot it seemed like it had been microwaved. Not good considering that was from the kids menu.

Slow cooked lamb wrap, the lamb was tough and unchewable.

Nobody bothered to ask if our meals were ok at any point. I can only presume because they know the answer.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank FoodManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2019

Awful cold food and poor service - avoid if you can . Really disappointing. Would not recommend. Service very slow.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BackPacker590847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

I was utterly appauled by my visit to the old police station! Numerous dishes of chicken were completely raw, and when we tried to address this issue with staff, we didn't receive one apology for the food that we were given. All dishes served were completely cold. There was a large group of us celebrating a special occasion and as a result of the horrific service and food presented to us, our evening was abruptly ruined. Staff talked back with no care when we tried to address this problem of cold and raw food and challenged us when we told them about our meal, stating that we were wrong and that the chicken was completely cooked when it was very clearly not. I will not be coming back and I strongly advise that the staff learn how to address issues with a better reasoning than to just give us a staff discount and call it acceptable. Very disappointed with the way that we were approached about this situation and I am personally disturbed that the members of staff found it acceptable to act the way that they did.

Date of visit: July 2019
4  Thank Anon115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

The food was really good. Staff not really interested in serving much more interested in talking to each other
Atmosphere seemed a little sterile which was a shame

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank CaroleT1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar whilst perusing the
Menu. We were then shown to our table and ordered the meals. The Menu wasn’t extensive, nevertheless we had choices. The starters were tasty and well presented. The Bream with nasturtium pesto was sublime! The Vanilla Parfait with poached apricots finished the meal perfectly! We would highly recommend and we will be back!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank AWomanofTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Police Station also viewed

Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Police Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing