We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best in Viljandi, avarage elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Viljandi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Viljandi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in Viljandi, avarage elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're staying in Viljandi, this is the hotel to sleep at. The rooms are avarage to large in size, and are comfortable. The building is old, but seems in good shape. The breakfest and and lunch is also decent.
Without being exclusive, the hotel is definately worth staying at.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We picked the Grand after looking at other Trip Adviser reviews. We stayed one night on a Friday on our way from the western islands to Tartu. The Hotel is in an imposing 1930s building and initial impressions were good. Our third floor room was at the back of the building and was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. The twin beds were too soft for our liking and not very supportive. There is no air conditioning. In the day time the room was very quiet, but later a nearby nightclub played loud music until the early hours of the morning. Closing the windows did not help as the base rhythm went straight through the building. Not a restful night's sleep! Breakfast was OK, the fruit juices are watery; there is the usual selection of hot and cold foods. The fruit and nuts for cereals had been left uncovered from the night before <shudder>. There was excellent fresh bread and yogurts, however, and the Reception staff made us a decent latte. Waitressesing was a bit offhand.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Grand Hotel is not in a pretty building and can be a little tricky being found because of the one way streets. But hey, that's part of the challenge of travelling!
Once you step inside, the hotel is well presented and the lobby spacious. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was well presented, clean and comfortable. In fact, I couldn't really fault the room, given the very reasonable price we paid.
There is a secure hotel carpark at the rear, as well as a paid car park in the front (which is free from 1600-0900). The hotel is beside a casino. Beside the car park out the front, are some shops and an interesting water feature and the remains of the city medieval wall, and a fairly decent cafe/bar.
The hotel is excellent value but was let down by a very poor breakfast presentation, otherwise I would have given the hotel an 'excellent'.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

You can't beat the location in the center of this beautiful town in southern Estonia. Although I stayed just one night in the middle of winter, I had great service from the front desk. The room was average size, but decorated modestly in art deco style to match the hotel decor from the inside. If you like art deco you will like the subtle details of this original building. Good parking across the street as well. Breakfast was a modest buffet and came with the room. The bathroom was good size and the bed was comfortable. A small TV won't distract you much from getting out and exploring a nice town with a great ruins of the castle walking distance away. Booked online directly with the hotel the same day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirk20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I like this hotel. It is in the middle of the nice and cool city. Very nice sightseeing also near the hotel. Example: shopping centre, statues and the famous Viljandi wrestling hall.

Room Tip: Tell them that you are wrestling fan, because the wrestling is the main sport in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kondrovo, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I spend 3 nights in this hotel visiting rally Viljandi. Hotel building is old - if I`m not mistaken in 1936 and rebuilt in 2002. The location is in the city centre. I have the 3rd floor room - very nice room the first from the lift. Room is not big, but clean, 2 towels, tv and wifi. Also there was a computer at the reception for use. The restorant at the hotel is also fine, there are many kinds of vine available, breakfast are standart for Estonian hotels. At august 2009 there were avalable smoking rooms and sauna. Next rally will live there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timurhan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The price /performance of this hotel is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable.
We were also almost the only guests in the restaurant.
The quality of the food is good. Service is excellent.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viljandi hotels
0.8 mi away
Peetrimoisa Villa Viljandi Spa Hotell
0.8 mi away
Kaare Guesthouse
Kaare Guesthouse
#1 of 12 in Viljandi
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aasa Kulalistemaja
Aasa Kulalistemaja
#4 of 12 in Viljandi
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centrum Hotel Viljandi
Centrum Hotel Viljandi
#5 of 12 in Viljandi
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Ingeri
Hostel Ingeri
#1 of 7 in Viljandi
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Endla Hotel
Endla Hotel
#3 of 12 in Viljandi
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Viljandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Viljandi

Property: Grand Hotel Viljandi
Address: Tartu 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Viljandi County > Viljandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Viljandi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Viljandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing