We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good proper local pub fare”

The Horse and Farrier Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dacre
Price range: $8 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good proper local pub fare”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It was lashing it down outside, we were muddy, cold, hungry, wet and accompanied by a damp, cheerful and sometimes over friendly large young dog. Yet the Horse and Farrier welcomed us with open arms and their Landlord terrier said a yappy hello as well!

We gulped mugs of hot tea, drank a good pint or two of the local beer and ate home made soup and scampi and chips. There was also a three course sunday lunch for 12 pounds on offer. It hit the spot, made us smile, warmed and filled us up. I would definitely recommend, nothing fancy - but good wholesome pub fare with a local welcoming atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyswpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    23
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and brilliant atmos”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is in a sleepy village, but is a busy establishment

It has a large menu, which I wanted about 7 different meals.
I opted for the pork belly, it was incredible. The staff are friendly and make you feel welcomed.

Suitable for families and dogs are welcome too.

The man was a nice bloke also.

Helpful?
Thank Charliebobfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire.uk
Level Contributor
224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Beers and Food Outstanding”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Superb menu, amazing owner and team that run the pub are friendly courteous and service with a warm smile.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheshireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skellow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub with great food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great food and friendly atmosphere. They also are pet friendly making such a fuss of our dog. A must place to visit if your in the lake district

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional pub”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped mid-walk for lunch in the Horse and Farrier last week, and it enjoyed it very much. The landlady was really friendly, as was her adorable little dog Levi. We both opted for mushroom soup which was really tast, then my husband went for the Sunday roast which was excellent value for money. I wanted something a bit lighter so had the garlic mushrooms in stilton sauce - yum!! Very traditional interior, a friendly welcome for us and our dog, and good quality food - couldn't ask for more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Farrier Inn also viewed

Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 

Been to The Horse and Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing