We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bolsters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Cognette
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Issoudun
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bolsters!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The one thing guaranteed to make my heart sink are French hotels that insist on using bolsters instead of pillows.

Unfortunately La Cognette is one of *those* hotels - a French 4 star hotel that should really only have 3, not quite managing 'charming', rather 'run down'. The room was quaint but icy, the mattress was thin, the milk jug at breakfast dirty, and then there was that dratted bolster.

I really wanted to love this hotel. The welcome was very warm and they have hotel/restaurant cats who are happy to be tickled under the chin (and have own framed photos). But it really didn't live up to its promise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claireincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    18
    16
    6
See reviews for
16
71
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were dissapointed when we saw on the website that the restaurant was closed on mondays, but on arrival we were happily surprised that the restaurant was open after all.
We had an excellent dinner and even our 6 months old son was delighted as the chef himself warmed his bottle of milk.
The room was beautifully furnished and we had a great stay. The breakfastroom was very very small, but the breakfast itself was OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ascp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stopped over in Issoudun on our way back to the Cote d'Azur. Highlight of our stay was the excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant, run by father and son Jean-Jacques Daumy. For my main course I had the pigeon breast farcie; simply divine. All ingredients locally sourced and dishes prepared in the regional style. Extensive wine list. Not difficult to see why this restaurant was awarded a Michelin star. Enjoyed the morning breakfast, wonderful homemade jam, freshly baked bread, and cold cuts. Overall a great experience and well worth a detour.

Room Tip: This is a small family run country hotel, and does not have great choice of rooms. As the purpose of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glutton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We booked by Internet and received an e mail confirmation; despite this, when we arrived the receptionist had no record and said that we should have checked by telephone. Apparently there were no rooms available, but after a short impasse we were offered a choice of 2! The room was opulently furnished and the bathroom impressive, but a curious bottle of blue liquid with dead fly in a carafe graced the basin area, no idea what it was.
It was very hot, but there were no drinks available, just a poorly stocked mini bar in our room -1 beer, tonic but no gin. The restaurant offered gourmand food, but our tastes are simpler and there was nothing that appealed.
Breakfast was expensive, the milk was off and lumpy, and removed when this was pointed out but not replaced. The resident cat was persistent.
Our initial booking was for £125, our room was advertised at £100 but we were still charged £125.
Issoudun is a convenient place to break a journey north, but we will not stay at this hotel again, it is expensive, has 4 stars and is certainly not what we expected.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Second stay, this time in the annexe. Very quiet (though noise not an issue when previously staying at front. Ni Discretely upgraded to a superior room, which had everything you need - great power shower. Lights occasionally randomly switched off (power saving timer?)
Niggles - no extra pillows, no proper curtains for door & garden & terrace could do with a tidy up - gives a poor initial impression.
No issue petsonally, but, whilst no dogs, the cats have the run of the public space.
Overall highly recommended, along with tip top restaurant - see separate review.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chbeaumont89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A courteous reception at the hotel followed by a warm welcome at the restaurant by the owners - memorable meals supplemented by an extensive wine list. A bit cramped for breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in La Cognette rather than Le Balzac
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We didn't stay at the hotel but had lunch at the restaurant, a unique dining experience. Beautifully prepared food, perfect service, reasonable prices. Possibly the best meal I had in France on this last trip which lasted over two months.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiep67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Issoudun
0.6 mi away
Campanile Issoudun
Campanile Issoudun
#4 of 5 in Issoudun
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Issoudun
14.2 mi away
Relais Saint Jacques Chateauroux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Bourges
Hotel Novotel Bourges
#9 of 19 in Bourges
518 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourbon - Mercure de Bourges
16.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Colbert
Best Western Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cognette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cognette

Property: Hotel de la Cognette
Address: 26 rue des Minimes, 36100 Issoudun, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Issoudun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Issoudun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Cognette 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cognette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cognette Issoudun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing