We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but ... remote, not up to speed yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good hotel but ...

1. The advertising is miss-leading. Extract from the official website: "Holiday Inn Express : Strasbourg - Centre / Located at the beginning of the pedestrian historical city centre of Strasbourg ..."
It is far away from reality and honestly it was a big disappointment.

2. Getting into the parking is getting very complicated on the first day: it took us over 10 minutes to get the barrier up. And in the parking is even more funny: the parking numbers starts at the first floor and continues at .. ground floor.

3. The vending machine was already broken on this brand new hotel ...

I waited over 1 week before writing this to avoid too much passion inside but ... still having a bad taste after this stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BogdanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear BogdanV,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I understand that your stay is not 100% satisfactory, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for one night. smooth check inn from friendly member of staff. Excellent comfortable room. Everything was clean and in good condition. Excellent shower. Very comfortable bed.
No food available in the hotel in the evening and the hotel is fairly remote so unless you pay for a taxi then options are very limited. However the receptionist offered me a Pizza menu and he placed the order for me and 30 minutes later I was sat in the garden eating a good pizza.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Dave1104, We would like to thank you for your pleasant feadback. Please note that we will keep going with our efforts to offer you the best comfort. We hope we will see you again ! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for a night or two. We stayed 1 night with our 8 and 12 year old for a trip to europapark. Good service, breakfast (included) was ok.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Kids slept on a pullout sofa bed.
Easy access to motorway and only 15 mins to downtown Strasbourg. Dogs are welcome.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is a good budget hotel for those travelling to and from Italy and Switzerland. The rooms are a decent size, well equipped and clean. The bathroom has a very good walk in shower. Breakfast, although a little sparse, is included in the price (we paid 91 euros for the 2 of us). Most importantly (for us) the car park is secure. However there is one issue - THERE IS NO RESTAURANT. There used to be when this was a Novotel - but now there is nothing. Seeing that the hotel is in the middle of an industrial dessert this can be quite an issue. There is a restaurant at the nearby Camponile - but that's it - get there early and book that restaurant if you don't want to go hungry, or to drive into Strasbourg.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car park so that you can check onyour car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We needed a stopover for our road trip. This is a budget hotel, with an enclosed parking in a very quite neighborhood with no restaurant options close by. A car is a must to stay here.

The room was large by budget hotel standards. Simple decoration, comfortable beds, clean. Nothing to complain about. Very basic breakfast included. The staff was very friendly.

There is no restaurant onsite, but there are plenty of options within a 5 to 10 minute drive.

Great for a one night stay

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Hsmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

very good, good breakfast, a bit out of the centre but ok if you have a car. this is the second time we have stayed here, the room is an ok size and clean, the staff are helpful. a cheap alternative to the centre of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was rather small for four people, but this is an budget hotel and I didn't expect more.
The staff were friendly and despite being close to the motorway, the rooms were not noisy.
Parking area is convenient if you are driving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geispolsheim
Athena Hotel & Spa
#7 of 130 in Strasbourg
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#5 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,058 reviews
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud

Address: 5 rue de l Ill, 67118 Geispolsheim, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Geispolsheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
Price Range: $87 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoomsThe 77 fully renovated, spacious, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with beautiful modern bathrooms with showers, offering you all the comforts of a four star hotel at an affordable price. The rooms have two large twin beds or one large double bed and a sofa.Events roomFor the organization of work days, room hire, drinks-buffet receptions or show-room events, our 100m² of adjustable lounges with three fully equipped rooms, all on the same level, with natural light and air-conditioned can accommodate up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geispolsheim
Novotel Hotel Strasbourg Sud
Geispolsheim Novotel
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud Geispolsheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing