We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Express Fare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The room had modern appeal and was very clean BUT we were presented with paper cups for tea and coffee. There was one light switch for all the lights in the room. Beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. Plenty of free parking. Typically an Express hotel. What was awful however was the dinner. The chicken pasta meal consisted of a chunk of reheated and over cooked chicken with a lump of pasta that was able to be picked up as a solid mass. Avoid eating there at all costs

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear AussieRoamers,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for the food served during your visit did not live up to your expectations. We constantly strive to provide the best accommodation and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 344 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is located in the metro area of Strabourg and is mainly designed to act as a sleepover place. Overall the hotel is clean, newly decorated, the staff is friendly.
Breakfast is nothing special, for this price I would expect a bit more variety.
My only problem with the hotel was that in December the rooms of the ground floor were really cold. Even though the room had an A/C going at 23C it was not able to provide any resemblance of heat. When you got out of the shower you had to dry yourself really fast in order to avoid catching a cold.

Room Tip: don't choose ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regshammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived at this Holiday Inn Express after flying all night and then driving almost 500 Kilometers. My wife and I were traveling with a friend. We had made and paid for this reservation months in advance. Imagine our surprise when we checked in to find that there was no room for our friend. They were absolutely 100% out of rooms. Needless to say, we were less than happy. She had been re-booked in a hotel in the city center of Strasbourg and we were in the suburbs of the city. This was not a good situation at all. Rather than go into all the details, the most important measure of a hotel is how they handle a bad situation like this and this is where this hotel really stepped up to the plate. They made everything as right as they could and by the time we were done it was a win-win for all. We also had reservations to stay here on our return to Paris. Once again this hotel went the extra mile. Our friend found a bottle of champagne in her room along with a snack and another note of apology. Later the hotel manager Natalie Barlin sought our friend out to apologize one more time. GREAT customer service. Additionally, we found the breakfast at this hotel one of the best and the rooms very nice. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is not a location where view is going to be important. We always prefer upper floors for the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwkrengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent. Stuff are so friendly. Rooms are extremely small, as expected from an Express hotel. No cupboard to put your stuff in. The arrangement of furniture is nice and neat. Overall, not too bad.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alraisi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Alraisi6,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. It is lovely to read your compliments of our staff and service. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

With Strasbourg being a good location to stopover on the drive down to Italy, we decided to try the Holiday Inn Express.

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival and check in, especially having stayed at a Holiday Inn the night before (which being higher in the IHG hierarchy I would have thought should have been more comfortable).

The hotel had plenty of parking (a necessity due to the location), the welcome was professional and the room was spacious and modern. The bathroom would not have been out of place in a four star hotel. Despite proximity to the motorway, we didn't experience any road noise.

We dined in the restaurant, which although soulless at least provided good food at a reasonable price and was able to provide pasta with tomato sauce for our eldest child. Breakfast on the other hand was not the best with a limited selection.

There is a large garden area with a small pool and a few children's toys, although it was wet overnight so we didn't get to use them.

Checkout was delayed due to the receptionist being on the telephone for what seemed like a very long time.

Having read about the difficulty in finding the hotel, we entered the Campanile into the Sat Nav which got us there without difficulty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First stay at this property was prompted merely due to the location. This hotel happened to be on the out skirts of Strasbourg city and enroute to our destination in Switzerland. Surely, suitable only for those guests who are mobile, the hotel has plenty of private and secured under surveillance camera parking. Contrary to the basic standards of Holiday Inn Express properties in Europe, the overall area of this hotel is much larger. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and much larger bathroom when compared with the typical HI Express hotels. There is an outdoor swimming pool well protected by an appropriate fencing. A proper restaurant for dining in the evening, which again is not a common feature of all HI Express hotels. Breakfast spread is much better than what the standard HI Express hotels offer. Friendly, courteous staff- who even drew the exact road map and driving directions to explain the nearby shopping mall and a great oriental restaurant. There is hardly anything worth seeing in the closer vicinity but a very reasonable cost really qualified this hotel for a great value for money. Due to multiple positives, we opted to stay at the same hotel while driving back to Netherlands. Indeed a good stop over property by the road yet peaceful and comfortable enough for a good sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not Bad, Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast. we stayed here for 2 days on route to Venice. it is a short drive to Strasbourg center however situated in an area where there are nor restaurants etc. it is ideal for a stop over but not as a center for sight seeing if you do not have transport. a short drive to Kehl in Germany also. Cheap, Modern Rooms, a swimming pool, lift service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geispolsheim
5.7 mi away
Athena Hotel & Spa
Athena Hotel & Spa
#8 of 131 in Strasbourg
684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
Hotel Restaurant d'Alsace
#1 of 5 in Illkirch-Graffenstaden
344 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#25 of 131 in Strasbourg
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
6.5 mi away
Hilton Strasbourg
Hilton Strasbourg
#43 of 131 in Strasbourg
1,641 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud

Address: 5 rue de l Ill, 67118 Geispolsheim, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Geispolsheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geispolsheim
Price Range: $86 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoomsThe 77 fully renovated, spacious, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with beautiful modern bathrooms with showers, offering you all the comforts of a four star hotel at an affordable price. The rooms have two large twin beds or one large double bed and a sofa.Events roomFor the organization of work days, room hire, drinks-buffet receptions or show-room events, our 100m² of adjustable lounges with three fully equipped rooms, all on the same level, with natural light and air-conditioned can accommodate up to 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geispolsheim
Novotel Hotel Strasbourg Sud
Geispolsheim Novotel
Holiday Inn Express Strasbourg - Sud Geispolsheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing