We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Only for the Airport”
Review of Areca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Areca Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past as we were spending a few days in the area, and returned as it was convenient for our sporting event at Gran Alicant. The hotel facilities are excellent, the only disappointment was that the pool and spa don't open until 7pm, far too late in our estimation. We enjoyed chilling out with a drink in the garden before wandering into town to dine at one of the many bars and restaurants. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi was available in our room. Be careful in the shower, the floor can be very slippy and there is no grab rail. An excellent place to stay, not just for the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aitch865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 443 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcoming in this quality hotel with amazing garden. You can eat in the garden. Food is fresh, well prepared, for reasonable price. And menu is in English.
Room is big, clean, with moderneequipment.
On top you have free access to the spa (haven't tried)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a night before an early morning flight from alienate, we booked the park and fly package which was really good value. We made use of the free spa and got the bus from right outside into Alicante for the day. The room was lovely, outside bar and restaurant very good and the staff most helpful I've ever come across in spain. We will stay here every time in future for Alicante flights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debsdoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love it for the price of 40EUR for one night!! The hotel is not in walk distance from The Airport but very close in a taxi, around 10EUR. The hotel has an Airport shuttle for 5EUR charged per room at the hotel. Would defenetly come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissa000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel was excellent. Good sized rooms with comfortable beds, a great place to stay (our Villa wasn't available until the day after we arrived in Alicante, so we looked for a Hotel close to the airport). We'd booked a family room for the two of us and our two boys (ages 16 and 13), but they gave us two rooms adjacent to one another - first class service and a very helpful reception.

We arrived at around 22.00 hrs and decided to eat at the in-house Restaurant 'Carabi'. We were seated on the outdoor terrace in great-looking surroundings.

The starters were plain and the main courses disappointing even though it was relatively expensive (not over-priced, just dear in comparison to the cost of the rooms). My eldest and I had pasta dishes which were served to us cold - they were warmed in the Microwave when we sent them back. My youngest selected the Rabbit dish which was over-cooked and dry. The waiters were very attentive and apologetic, but by then the meal was spoiled, even though they deducted a small amount from the bill. Not a great start to our holiday.

My advice... please do use this Hotel - it's very close to the airport, clean and contemporary and a nice place overall, but perhaps consider eating dinner elsewhere.

The breakfast was fine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Not very inspiring when we viewed the hotel from the outside but do not be put off. The hotel inside is ritzy. We asked for a room at the back to avoid any road noise at the front. Our room faced the airport and Torrellano Train Station and despite this it was surpisingly quiet. Our room was spacious very clean and very smart. If you like a good breakfast book it, it was excellent. The usual continental plus a full English from the buffet, lots of fresh fruit and juices, coffee good.

We stayed 2 nights prior to our departure from the airport in order to go to the beautiful city of Alicante by train. Just a 5 minute walk down the road and you are at the station where trains depart hourly. Two stops and 15 minutes later you are in the city centre. Do not miss out on a visit to the castle.

Do not go to the airport on the main road but drive toward the train station, over the crossing, at the roundabout take the 3rd exit signed to the airport and it takes you straight there. From the hotel to the car rental return was literally 5 minutes. Easy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgwdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a perfect hotel and perfect location for a night before our flight. Very clean and comfortable rooms, nice friendly staff and lovely garden setting if you want an evening snack or meal.

Close to train stop also if you want to visit the great city of Alicante if you have time.

Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elche
6.2 mi away
Hotel Huerto Del Cura
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Elche
Holiday Inn Elche
#6 of 9 in Elche
287 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jardin Milenio
Jardin Milenio
#3 of 9 in Elche
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Posada
Hostal La Posada
#1 of 1 in Torrellano
34 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Alicante Elche
Ibis Alicante Elche
#4 of 9 in Elche
327 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel La Laguna Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Hotel

Address: Calle Limon 2 | Torrellano, 03320 Elche, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Elche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elche
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Areca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Areca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Hotel Elche, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing