We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potato place across the road is the highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Charleville-Mezieres
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel receptionist didn't speak much English but had information written so we could still understand. Rooms were clean, basic, small but comfortable, with only one power outlet. Internet was good. Traffic noise was quite loud. We ate at the potato restaurant across the road which was worthwhile. Overall, good for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

I guess this is the French equivalent of the Travelodge, although the on site restaurant is a cut above your average Little Chef. The rooms are clean and tidy if a little "tired" but as a one night convenient stop over it is hard to fault.

There is some noise from the other rooms and the adjacent roads, but not overly intrusive.

The on site restaurant is pleasant enough although possibly thinks it is better than it really is. Most of the on site literature (including the menus) is provided in several languages including English, not many of the staff (in fact only one that we could find) spoke any English but nevertheless they were very accommodating and very patient with my stumbling French.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieCroker1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I decided on a Campanile because previous experiences have all been good. All we wanted was to have food, stay the night, have breakfast and move on. I thought Campaniles had restaurants. I may be wrong. If this place had a restaurant, it was closed for refurbishment, we think. The reception was a make shift table in the building with a few squashed-in tables for breakfast. The bedroom was typical Campanile in need of up dating but adequate and very clean. It did however smell of cigarette smoke and other smells. There is a Hotel F1 and Premiere Class Hotel next door. We had to go into Chareville- Meziers to get something to eat though there was some American Grill place next to the Premiere Class Hotel and a Patatas (?) opposite. We hope this Campanile gets itself sorted out soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is located about 4,5 km from downtown Charleville Mezieres, close to the highway. It's a two-storey building, without elevator. The restaurant (where you also have breakfast) is located in an adjacent building, together with the reception.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, with TV (french channels only), air conditioning, complimentary in-room coffee and tea and even free wireless Internet. No in-room hair drier, but you can borrow one at the reception. Free parking.

The only drawback for me: noise from adjacent roads can wake you up early in the morning.

I was not inspired by the internal restaurant, and I did not try it, since there are other restaurants within walking distance. Good breakfast buffet.

I would say that it's a very good two-star hotel, and it offers good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmmanuelMicron2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Guitchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre est vétuste, changement de chambre car néon ne fonctionne pas dans la salle de bain, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank T3761ABnathalied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleville-Mezieres hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
#2 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Charleville - Mezieres
Premiere Classe Charleville - Me...
#9 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cesar Hotel
Cesar Hotel
#8 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Couleurs Sud
Couleurs Sud
#6 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
66 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Dormeur du Val
Le Dormeur du Val
#4 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Charleville-Mezieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Charleville-Mezieres

Address: Route De La Francheville Zac Du Moulin Le Blanc, 08000, Charleville-Mezieres, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Charleville-Mezieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Charleville-Mezieres
Price Range: $51 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Charleville-Mezieres 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Charleville-Mezieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing