We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place as a base for touring the Ardennes by motorcycle”
Review of Le Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Pelican
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is a decent alternative to one of the cheaper chains like Ibis. For motorcyclists, the integral garage space is excellent. Well, it would be excellent for a Zeppelin pilot as it is huge! For non-motorists, the hotel is very near the railway station.
Rooms are adequate for the price point, with free wifi. Don't come here if stairs are a problem as there is no lift and they are very steep.
Charleville Mezieres exceeded expectations. You will need to explore the city as this hotel does not do evening meals. There is a brasserie in another hotel across the Square de la Gare if you do not want to walk far. However, I recommend you take a few minutes to walk via Rue Daux to Cours Ariste Briand. From there keep walking towards Place Ducale along Rue de la Republique. You will pass many restaurants along the way, with the price getting higher as you approach Place Ducale! We stayed 2 nights and dined in a brasserie near the fountain on the first night and a créperie in Rue de la Paix in the second. Both were pretty decent and had good value fixed price menus.
Reception will give you a map and recommend places to dine if you ask.
Breakfast was fine and the service was good all round.
Six of us on 6 bikes stayed 2 nights on the way home from a trip to the Alps. I had a very enjoyable day criss-crossing the Franco-Belgian border numerous times as I explored the Ardennes region during the spare day. This would be a good base for a long weekend for a solo rider or group (20 rooms available). For UK residents, the Channel Tunnel is about 3 hours away by the most direct route.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wessie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on route to Brussels. The hotel was clean and quiet. The bed and bathroom were good. The staff was also quite helpful and really went out of their way to accommodate our every request. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you had a reason to stay in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights - clean and modern hotel with a big room.

We loved our stay here. Very friendly and just 5-10 minute walk to the main square.

Free wifi and cheap parking.

Would definitely reccomend.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Happy-traveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

There is nothng wrong with this hotel, it is reasonably priced and clean, the breakfast at 7.5euros is ok but finishes early and they cleared everything away by 9.30am even though we were still seated and had not finished. The real problem is that the town itself is really unappealing, there is vey litte to recommend it. We drove the 20 miles up to Bouillon just across the Belgian border and spent the whole day in a very charming and picturesque village. If you have to stay in the area then make it Bouillon which even though it is much smaller than Charleville has a better selection of restaurants. By the way the bar oposite the Pelican is very friendly and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: go for the larger rooms, they are not huge but are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stopped in this hotel for 4 nights.
The hotel is situated opposite the train station and is only 5 minutes walk from bars and restaurants.
The room was good, all you would expect from a 2 star hotel, which was cleaned every day.
Fresh towels are provided on a daily basis.
Free wi-fi is available in every room.
The breakfast was continental, plentiful and of a high standard.
The staff were helpful and friendly, although their English was as bad as our French, so communication was limited!
Overall had an excellent stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinmanjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Helpful receptionist despite us arriving later than advised check-in
VERY TIGHT turn into the hotel car park on a busy road. Take care and if you have a big car take a lot of care...
Bathroom in our room very run down. Electric wires brown areas on them , mold in the shower , ceiling fan very dirty , MDF chipped , shower cubicle rusty , toilet dirty

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeerAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Having read the reviews in French I used the Tripadvisor booking service for the first time. I was very pleased both with the booking service and the hotel. The French reviews all say that the hotel is friendly, well maintained and above all clean. This was exactly what we found. The French also complained about the lack of a lift (elevator) which we found tricky as well. The stairs are steep and anybody frail or handicapped should go elsewhere.

Having said all this we loved this hotel. The car park was the size of an aircraft hangar and very secure. Madame la patronne was wonderfully friendly and helpful. One of our group left his mobile phone charger plugged into the wall and when we got home I rang her. Yes, she said, I have it here. Email me his address and I will mail it to him at no charge.

The hotel is slightly set apart from the centre of town and the street outside is not overwhelmingly beautiful. The centre of town is a 10-15 minute walk away and uphill, which was no problem for us but might be to others.

This matters because breakfast is the only meal available here. This was excellent and in the French manner, ie pastries and bread but no hot food. In the evening you will have to eat elsewhere.

We came for a boys weekend of hiking in the Ardennes and will definitely come back do this again and will use this hotel when we do.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lefthandwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleville-Mezieres hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
#2 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dormeur du Val
Le Dormeur du Val
#4 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cesar Hotel
Cesar Hotel
#8 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Couleurs Sud
Couleurs Sud
#5 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Meuse
Hotel de la Meuse
#7 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pelican

Address: 42 Avenue du Marechal Leclerc | Charleville Mezieres, 08000, Charleville-Mezieres, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Charleville-Mezieres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Charleville-Mezieres
Price Range: $75 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing