We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient stop-over location close to amenities.”
Review of Macon Sud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macon Sud Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chaintre
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped overnight and found the recently refurbished hotel and our rooms to be clean and fresh. Roomsize fine for overnight stay. Staff very helpful with directions. We dined in, food was good, just make sure you book in. Close to several other restaurants and walk to large supermarket that sells everything from wine to kids clothes. We booked online 2 days before arriving and received a rate lower than the hotels advertised rate. No lift, but stairs easy enough for us. Definitely recommend for a stop-over stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gal00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night to break up journey south. Arrived around 3ish and were greeted by lovely receptionist who didn't seem to mind a slightly manic child tearing around after having been trapped in the car for 6 hours. The receptionist let us know that they were expecting a busy morning and offered us the chance to pay then and there which I took.

On arrival room appeared clean and functional, not particularly spacious but not too small. Bathroom clean, tea and coffee facilities present. The window shutters were a great bonus as they cut out all the traffic noise. Wifi was strong and we were issued with a 24hr ticket, although it dropped out at 8.30am and I couldn't get it to reconnect after that.

Didn't use the restaurant for the evening meal as it didn't start serving til 7 which was a little late for a tired child but walked across the car park to the Buffalo Grill for a great child-friendly early dinner.

There was a little corridor noise between 9pm and 10pm but it was quiet after that and there was no noise from other rooms. Beds were comfortable and it was a good nights rest.

Nice hot shower in the morning, although the shower door had been replaced with just a curtain and this leaked all over the bathroom floor.

Breakfast was a delight, and at 8 euros for an adult and 4.50 for a child was very good value. Lots of choice that satisfied even a fussy eater and the member of staff was constantly refreshing everything.

The receptionist had been right and the reception was very busy in the morning but as all I had to do was drop off the keycard I was very pleased. We filled up with petrol from the Carrefour just behind the hotel and were back on the motorway in minutes for the last 4 hour push down to the resort. I hadn't realised the previous day due to being so tired how many shops were located behind the hotel as it would have been a definite temptation and one I will remember for next time.

I will be saving this location for future ski trips as it was very practical and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK1bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed one night on the way down to the Alps for a skiing holiday. The woman on reception did not exactly give us a warm welcome! Our room was very small and old fashioned and there were no tea/coffee making facilities. We complained about this and were told that the one in our room had been taken out to put into a refurbished room and they didn't have any left! The hotel is currently updating the rooms and, having seen one, I am very disappointed that our room was so cramped and in need of some serious TLC. Dinner and breakfast were good with plenty to eat and a decent choice. There are another couple of good points about this hotel - the car park is locked at night so if your car is full of luggage etc, you can feel safe that it is secure. The second is its location, the hotel is next to a number of restaurants and other hotels and, best of all, 2 minutes drive from a large Carrefour supermarket where you can fill up the car for a fraction of what is costs on the motorway. I would stay in this hotel again, but only if I was assured of a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

On a business trip through France and felt like I needed to stop. Checked T.A. and choose the Comfort Hotel Macon. I was really pleased that I did. The price was very reasonable. It's a no frills type of place. But it's clean and the folks that run it were very nice. They put up a very nice breakfast that was included in the price. I was happy with the value.

Note; I asked for a quiet room and was given one facing the front which was close to the highway. I didn't ask to change because I couldn't hear anything and in fact my sleep quality was fine. It seems that the construction and windows are really soundproof.

Room Tip: There's no lift, so if you don't want to climb stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cali4niaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We wanted a night to sleep in the middle of our journey to the south of France, and this was right near the motorway but we couldn't hear anything from it. This hotel was very adequate, not luxury. Clean, comfortable beds and a bathroom with a good shower. The breakfast was very generous with plenty to eat if you wanted. Downside for us was our bathroom was a bit smelly and everything looked a bit tired. The internet did not work in the room either which was annoying. No air conditioning was a slight problem as it was August. As I said we only wanted one night and for the money I would go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyputthekettleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Short version: You can tell it's a 2 star hotel, but there is nothing to do in Macon, so only travelers would stay, and only overnight, so who cares.

A definite 2 star hotel. Easy to find. Best for travelers, staying one night, two at most. Most people travel in the summer, but there is no AC, just a window. There is no elevator, but the stairs are very wide. Again, hopefully not much luggage, because the rooms are very small. But, children on summer vacation take up space, and maybe, pets? The bathroom is nicer than the room itself, so nice bathroom. Food is very good, no complaints. People are very warm, friendly, and welcoming. Internet connection in rooms. Right on a road. Restaurants, fast foods, stores all surrounding the hotel. Parking is right in front of the hotel, so good for luggage. There is the main entrance door, and another door that leads right to the rooms, nearer to the parking than the main entrance, so very handy again for luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juleea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 1-night and were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff. The room was fairly spacious, clean and comfortable. We had looked at a number of other rooms in the area and for the money, this was far and away the best one we found. The hotel has an excellent restaurant. We didn't eat dinner there that night but the menu did look very good. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was excellent. When something ran out, the staff immediately replenished it which didn't often happen on our trip. If you are looking for a clean, safe and economical hotel, this one is highly recommended! There are alot of shops and restaurants within just a few miles which was also a big plus.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeteD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaintre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campanile Macon Sud - Chaintre
7.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Macon Nord
Ibis Budget Macon Nord
#14 of 30 in Macon
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Macon sud
0.2 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Macon Sud
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Macon Sud
#3 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
120 reviews
7.9 mi away
Novotel Macon Nord
Novotel Macon Nord
#7 of 30 in Macon
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macon Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macon Sud Hotel

Address: 164 rue de Bresse | Mâcon, 71570 Chaintre, Macon, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Macon Sud)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon > Chaintre
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chaintre
Price Range: $55 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macon Sud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 29 hightway A6,Conveniently located in a peaceful area yet not far from the centre of Mâcon, Denis and virginie offers quality accommodation in the heart of Burgundy. Situated within easy reach of a big shopping center, this recently renovated hotel is well-connected to the main highways and TGV train station, and represents an ideal stopover for guests wishing to quickly reach main attractions or business facilities of Mâcon and Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macon Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Macon
Macon Sud Hotel Chaintre, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing