We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Palace de Menthon
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked us a night here while we were on holiday in Switzerland and it is a beautiful hotel! Very old school glamour which I love. Room was perfect with the most amazing view of the lake, the pool was great and it had a private part by the lake for sunbathing and a great wee bar by the water. Only downside was the breakfast being 18 Euros for a buffet and the waitress snapping at us for 2 of us sitting at a 4 person table but the room was quiet otherwise we wouldn't have used the table and it was so we could both face the incredible view - other guests had done the same and you can't blame them! Reception staff were lovely, especially the gentleman that was there when we checked out.

The best part if the trip is I was proposed to while I was there and the hotel and location was a beautiful setting for this!

The town itself is lovely with beautiful little houses and flowers everywhere!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannahb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    244
    134
    56
    23
See reviews for
109
344
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thoiry, France
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have had a very bad experience with this hotel regarding our wedding. We got married here in May 2013 and unfourtunately the hotel ended our weekend by not refunding a large amount of wine bottles. We agreed with the staff on place but the manager is refusing to answer us. We sent them a recommended letter in July 2013 that they still havent answered. It is sad to feel that they give a dark shadow on our wedding weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guri11052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel has everything one could desire in a holiday hotel with the exception of Italian hospitality and service, the hotel has a majestic stepped entrance with vehicular access to the garden level where the lift takes you to the reception level, your car is ticketed after 2/3 hours 'Do Not Park Here' there is no consierge service provided. The rooms are classic period French and have not been decorated for a significant period of time, corridors from the lift are not ventilated and suffer from period odours, bathroom worked well and the lake view, no balcony, is spectacular, guests on other floors are permitted to smoke on the balconies and the smoke rises into other rooms through the open windows. We were advised that a summer bar and restaurant is provided at lake side level, cocktails and wine are not served in the main cocktail bar, our request for drinks and a wine list was refused and we were told to move to the lake side bar, it was raining at the time. There are a number of golf buggies available to transport guests from the reception level to the lake side facilities, sun beds are provided in front of the bar and the buggies are moving around all day driven by various members of staff with only one person on board on gravel paths, it resembles the 1st or 18th tee on a golf course and is obtrusive when reading a book. Access to the pool and hotel WiFi is by codes which are not provided when you check in, you have to ask, the WiFi drops out when you close the application and needs to be re entered on every occasion. The level of service provided is a shame as the location is spectacular and the lake is fabulous, please invest in front of house staff and guests welfare.

Room Tip: Guests should make their requirements clear to the hotel reception when booking in, one must not ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbrownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in this very elegant hotel overlooking the lake. Room 301 was very clean, spacious and well appointed. The hotel looked as if had been recently refurbished as everything was clean, bright and shiny.

The evening meal was very good and was taken in very large marquee by the side of the lake. Most unusual but it had a very nice atmosphere. There was a very good indoor swimming pool.

Slightly disappointed with breakfast considering they charged 18 euros each.

The only slight draw back is that the restaurant being by the lake meant that you had to walk down several flights of steps from the hotel. OK going down but can be a bit daunting going up after a large meal and a bottle of wine. The hotel has a restaurant in the main body of the hotel but although breakfast is served there we were told that it is now not used for dinner as they don't have enough staff to allow them to open it for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel has a stunning location right on the lake, with lovely grounds and a good lakeside restaurant. But inside, the hotel is tired and outdated. The rooms are clean and decent size, but the beds are uncomfortable and furniture and decor are shabby. The rooms do not have air conditioning, so we found ours very warm at night. Also, there was a wedding on, so noisy outside throughout the night - this might not be an issue in winter, but is in summer when you need the windows open. A good stay, but not worth the 4-star rating and price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night with our two dogs, the hotel looks magnificent andis set in beautiful gardens and overlooking the lake. The interior is four star satisfactory, staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the lake which was fantasitc, being 4 star the rooms are quite basic but comfortable. There is an indoor pool which is heated and of a good size, also a sauna and a steam room which are very clean and clean changing rooms. There are many areas with sun loungers so one can have privacy and space. Breakfast was self service with a good selection to choose from. I would return to this hotel if I was in this area again.

Room Tip: I think all residents had a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks. UK
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a 3rd floor room with magnificent views, 3 windows, spacious and bright. Newly refurbished bathroom and walk in wardrobe. But we only had 6 hangers - for 2 people for 4 days - and despite asking for more they never arrived.

The carpet was a bit stained – would have benefitted from a quick steam clean – and the furniture a bit damaged, but coffee machine provided (some rooms did some didn’t, no obvious reason why). But did not detract from lovely light room and comfortable bed.

Staff generally very friendly and helpful, except at breakfast when there seemed to be no attempt to replenish until guests asked. It is not acceptable to run out of eggs, hot milk, hot water, plates and bowls at 9.00 when breakfast goes on till 10. When I told the waitress there were no plates or bowls she said “there is one plate” when there were 4 people waiting. The egg boiler was very low and full of scum from egg white, she lifted the lid and said "it's OK". Very odd and to be honest not typical of the hotel.

The food was absolutely superb for all our meals and the service for our group meals was impeccable.

I would recommend without hesitation but I think they have a little work to do to charge the rack rate of 295€.

There is a fantastic swimming pool, almost always to ourselves, lovely gardens, views to die for.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a lake view, be careful if you need a walk in shower as most are over the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
419 reviews
4.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#7 of 9 in Talloires
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palace de Menthon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palace de Menthon

Property: Le Palace de Menthon
Address: 665 route des Bains | 665 Route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Palace de Menthon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vast private park, with a unique view and a rare beauty, found on the shores of Lake Annecy, the Palace de Menthon continues its success story which began at the beginning of the last century. A mecca for visitors, it is refocusing its efforts on what it does best - combining tradition and modernity. Situated in Menthon Saint-Bernard, 10 km from Annecy and 40 km from Geneva , on the shores of the lake, the Palace de Menthon is accessible by car and also by boat, thanks to a small private port. The view is impressionable. From the gardens to the restaurants, from the bedrooms to the indoor swimming pool, one is left to indulge in the surrounding beauty all year round. Sheltered from the noise by both the mountains and the lake, Le Palace de Menthon is positioned high above a park which descends gently towards the sides of the lake. Ideal for recharging ones batteries for a day, a weekend or several days, Le Palace de Menthon has created a unique sense of welcoming its guests with warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Le Palace de Menthon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palace De Menthon Hotel Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing