We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't do better in a small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vallombreuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Vallombreuse
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't do better in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everything that is important to us in a bed and breakfast we found here: a charming hostess willing to give information when requested, an EXTREMELY comfortable bed, quiet, excellent coffee, a traditional local breakfast, and a beautiful view out the window. The gardens are lovely, the mountain view is divine, and the inn is well situated a short walk from a few tiny restaurants and also from one of the most magnificent castles in Savoie. 20 minute walk to the lake. We stayed 4 nights and after staying at other inns in other Haute-Savoie towns we were wishing we had stayed longer.
A minor quibble: The room's bathtub (we were in the mezzanine room) did not have a shower curtain so we felt compelled to take a sitting bath with the shower head to rinse us. But the bathroom was so large and comfortable we did not let this spoil our enjoyment. We were there as a couple but our teenage kids would enjoy this inn also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odile O, Gérant at La Vallombreuse, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice impression left on Trip advisor concerning la Vallombreuse. I am just concerned on the fact that you didn't see the bath curtains that are in each bathrooms. It is true that we chose to put bathtubs and not proper showers. Maybe I have to explain this detail better next time to new guests. Thank you any way and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I give this hotel a split decision. I don’t want to review it too much because there is nothing special either way about this place. So here is a quick list of what I liked and what I didn’t.

Pros:
Clean
Spacious
Great views
Good price

Cons:
They advertise Wi-Fi, but only don’t get any decent signal anywhere, and when you do manage it is slow as molasses running uphill in winter.

Breakfast is supposed to be included but it is nothing more than yoghurt, cheese, coffee, juice and milk. Technically this is breakfast but don’t expect it to fuel your busy morning.

They hand wrote our “receipt” on a blank piece of paper because they ran out of invoice paper. For me this is a basic that should not be missed, unprofessional in my opinion.

Room Tip: Bring pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've just returned from our second long stay at La Vallombreuse. Other guests generally booked one or two nights and that seems a shame as it is very comfortable with a beautiful garden and dining/living room. We were invited to make ourselves at home and we ate a picnic in the garden almost every night.
About half of the days of our holiday were very warm, but the old building was lovely and cool at night so it was no problem getting a good night's sleep, especially with the large and very comfortable bed.
The town and lake are stunning and in a wonderful area for walking, swimming and cycling. Paraglider pilots won't need reminding what a mecca lake Annecy is for the sport and we saw good reasons for that. We travelled independently but there was never a problem getting the bus to take off and there is a small supplier selling coffee, cold drinks and even Stella lager and spicy sausage hotdogs on the landing field.
Even though the B&B is very pretty and good for couples and families, the owners were not at all snooty about our sports equipment and dirty boots.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odile O, Propriétaire at La Vallombreuse, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Google Translation
Merci pour votre belle description de la maison et du lac. Nous sommes ravis de vous avoir reçu pour la deuxième fois. Notre maison est aussi bien entendue ouverte à tous les sportifs de tout poils.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This ancient "manoir" was perfect for our family stay last Easter, its position, its charme, the garden for the kids, we appreciated all of it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Pretty room, nice furniture, comfortable bathroom and good view. But obsolete payment system and limited service. If you still want to stay with them, double check whether they actually book you at La Vallombreuse or their new but less equipped chalet. They may put you whichever is available without prior notification.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayagva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

La Vallombreuse is a striking 16th century manor house built at the foot of the castle of Menthon Saint Bernard, above lac Annecy. (See both in attached photos.) We stayed two nights in October 2007. The rooms were all very classy and stylish (see photos), and the breakfast, held a large upstairs common “living room” that looks out over the lake and mountainside, was excellent. (It’s what we call a mountain or “Swiss”-style breakfast -- offering distinctive breads, fruits, jams, local cheeses and cured meats, along with other standard morning fare – see photo.)

The owners/ proprietors were very accommodating, and obviously they are patrons of and promoters of art and artists. We walked to a nice dinner down the hill in the little town. Excellent hiking is nearby (see photos) – and in the right season (but not in late October!) you can even visit some Alpine cheese farms.

-- Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com )

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
0.9 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#2 of 12 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#6 of 12 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golf et Montagne
Hotel Golf et Montagne
#7 of 12 in Talloires
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 4 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#3 of 12 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vallombreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vallombreuse

Property: La Vallombreuse
Address: 534, route des Moulins, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the Alps mountains, near Annecy (Haute Savoie),"La Vallombreuse" is a beautiful manor built a the foot of Menthon-Saint-Bernard's castle during the sixteenth century. We have 3 double rooms and 2 family suites, one with a big living room and one with a big balcony facing our garden. All our bedrooms have private bathrooms and ensuite facilities. The general atmosphere is very peaceful with different big open space and quiet environment. Decoration is sleek voluntarily and our guests are totally independent from us if they want to. Our French Bed and Breakfast will welcome you all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Vallombreuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing