We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful charming place, big garden”
Review of La Vallombreuse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Vallombreuse
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This ancient "manoir" was perfect for our family stay last Easter, its position, its charme, the garden for the kids, we appreciated all of it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for La Vallombreuse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Pretty room, nice furniture, comfortable bathroom and good view. But obsolete payment system and limited service. If you still want to stay with them, double check whether they actually book you at La Vallombreuse or their new but less equipped chalet. They may put you whichever is available without prior notification.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayagva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdileOugier, Propriétaire at La Vallombreuse, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

I am sure I had already answered this note so just to clarify what had happened, i will do it again.
Miss Mayagva wanted a reservation at la Vallombreuse but we were fully booked. I offered her to book a room in our new self-cattering chalet in the village, explaining that we were not living on the spot but that we would be most happy to exceptionally serve breakfast for her there! She fully agreed with the offer and i picked her up at the bus stop to take her to the chalet and show her around the village.
Because this place is not a bed and breakfast, payments are usually made in advance by transfert or pre-payement with a credit card. Payement could then be donne directly with me and with a credit/debit card!

Sad to see that you spend an unpleasant weekend instead of enjoying the beauty of the place and incredible lake view. We will maybe have the pleasure to have you again at la Vallombreuse. The chalet is now a full self-catering rental place for groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

La Vallombreuse is a striking 16th century manor house built at the foot of the castle of Menthon Saint Bernard, above lac Annecy. (See both in attached photos.) We stayed two nights in October 2007. The rooms were all very classy and stylish (see photos), and the breakfast, held a large upstairs common “living room” that looks out over the lake and mountainside, was excellent. (It’s what we call a mountain or “Swiss”-style breakfast -- offering distinctive breads, fruits, jams, local cheeses and cured meats, along with other standard morning fare – see photo.)

The owners/ proprietors were very accommodating, and obviously they are patrons of and promoters of art and artists. We walked to a nice dinner down the hill in the little town. Excellent hiking is nearby (see photos) – and in the right season (but not in late October!) you can even visit some Alpine cheese farms.

-- Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com )

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: En été vous pouvez profiter du grand jardin.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascalfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Rosalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Aldo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdileOugier, Propriétaire at La Vallombreuse, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menthon-Saint-Bernard
0.9 mi away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
58 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
Hotel Restaurant de Yoann Conte
#1 of 3 in Veyrier-Du-Lac
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
#4 of 9 in Talloires
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golf et Montagne
Hotel Golf et Montagne
#7 of 9 in Talloires
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#3 of 9 in Talloires
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vallombreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vallombreuse

Address: 534 route des Moulins, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
Price Range: $173 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the Alps mountains, near Annecy (Haute Savoie),"La Vallombreuse" is a beautiful manor built a the foot of Menthon-Saint-Bernard's castle during the sixteenth century. We have 3 double rooms and 2 family suites, one with a big living room and one with a big balcony facing our garden. All our bedrooms have private bathrooms and ensuite facilities. The general atmosphere is very peaceful with different big open space and quiet environment. Decoration is sleek voluntarily and our guests are totally independent from us if they want to. Our French Bed and Breakfast will welcome you all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Vallombreuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing