We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
100
50
5
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
100
50
5
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken decking area recommend this lovely hotel great food single room lake district long journey recommend staying here room was large cooked breakfast owners and staff full english local walks pudding stayed for two nights couldn't do enough warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 167 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018

What a great place to stay in the western Lakes. Much quieter than the area around Windermere but still within reach. So handy for Wastwater, Scarfell Pike and the beach at Seascale. The welcome from Elena was lovely and she was so knowledgeable about local walks and places to visit. The room, even though it was an economy room, was an adequate size for two of us with a large comfortable bed, crisp white bed linen and a modern ensuite. There is a choice of dining rooms and an ample decking area, perfect for warm nights. The food is really good and so is the service. What's not to like. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank crossx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Friendly staff and excellent service, the evening meals were very good especially the Kiev. Three nights in a single room was the perfect location for my motorcycling tour of the Lakes and for the Hardknott and Wrynose pass. Elena was lovely and Michael couldn’t have been more accommodating.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solitairetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Lovely hotel, modernised and well looked after, bedroom very roomy with nice en-suite bathroom. Food is excellent, nice bar and dining area, dining very popular with the locals. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Very convenient for Scalfell Pike.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davebray2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with a view to walking up Scarfell Pike. The hotel was a 15 mins drive from the NP car park at Wast Head. It was also only 10 mins drive from the beach. The hotel was welcoming and friendly. There was a good selection of drinks in the bar and the food was both good quality and good value. I can totally recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

We happened upon the Lutwidge Arms Hotel after trying two nearby Pubs that had roaring coal/log fires, great to look at but not very good for me as they seriously effect my breathing !
Anyway, the Lutwidge is lovely traditional Pub and the Staff where very welcoming.
The Blackpudding stack starter was delicious. My Son had a Burger which was huge, plus all the usual accompaniments. I am not usually a fan of chicken but the Latvian chicken sounded unusual. It was not only unusual, it was amazing, and almost worth the trip in itself.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
1  Thank alfayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews