We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friends of ours were staying at the hotel and we were on the nearby caravan site. The evening of their arrival we met them in the bar and were impressed by the extensive menu so found a seat in the cramped, crowded bar and placed our order. There was a wait, but not too long and the food was quite good, but could have benefited from being hotter. On returning from our walk up Scafell Pike our friends booked a table for the 4 of us in the restaurant for 7.45. We ordered immediately and went to sit in the restaurant. At 9 pm we were fed up of waiting and went to ask where our food was as people had been coming into the restaurant and being served with their starter, mail meal and sweet and we were still waiting! The explaination was that there were already people booked in at 8 when we booked in for 7.45!!!!!!! The meal arrived at 9.10. It was okay but we were too hungry to appreciate it by then, and it still was not piping hot. They seem to be trying hard and we wish them ever sucess, but we would not eat there again because of this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenuineDabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We visited the hotel as a party of five, One double and one family room, to climb Scafell Pike and take in the lakes. The hotel gave us a warm welcome and following a hard days hiking offered us everything we needed to relax. We ate in the hotel on all of the nights, and the food was nothing other than excellent and extremely reasonably priced. There was a good mixture of residents and locals, and this added to the atmosphere.

The family room was generous in size, fresh, light and very clean.

The breakfast offered a wide variety of options accommodating all our individual choices.

This is one hotel we would certainly revisit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for one night but were treated as if we were staying for a month.
The owners of this hotel are putting a lot of work into making the hotel first class - some of the public areas are still being worked on.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Lutwidge Arms with some friends on their return from Australia, to make it different we decided to stay in the lake district for the lakes, walks and fresh air. We found the hotel with ease and had only just got out of the car when we were met by both Michael and Ellena the owners of the Lutwidge. They gave us the warmest of welcomes and genuinely could not do enough for us, the hotel is of historical interest not only as an old coach house but the home of Louis Carroll of Alice in Wonderland fame. The hotel is full of character, the rooms were excellent and very clean and comfortable, especially after long walks! The bar is well stocked and a very good selection of wines that compliment the restaurant. Food wise you can eat in the bar or have a table in the restaurant with excellent service, the thing that amazed us was the vast selection of food available, all locally produced and freshly cooked, that much variety we were spoilt for choice. Our stay was excellent at this hotel and I would recommend it every time, both Michael and Ellena worked so hard throughout our stay to make sure all their guests had the very best of stays and we did and will be back again, if you fancy the lakes stay here!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely people who run the hotel, very friendly and accommodating- great, traditional British grub served in the local bar under the hotel and an even better breakfast in the morning. Great value and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here last night following a walk round Ennerdale Lake, have to say, the owners were very flexible with check in times, allowing us to check in at 11am when we arrived instead of having to wait til 2pm. rooms are cosy, clean and fully equipped.
Went on our walk and came back drenched but happy ( and a bit knackered) and Mike the owner was on hand to check we were ok etc.
Evening meal superb, two of us had fish and the other two had steak and both said it was cooked perfectly, the fish was delicious also. Warm, welcoming bar area, we chose to eat in there instead of the restaurant and we weren't disappointed.

Mike and his wife Elena were efficient, helpful and always on hand if needed.
superb service in lovely surroundings, I'd recommend the Lutwidge Arms to anyone!

Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel is warm and friendly with an excellent menu, with quality cooked food served in the restaurant.
Good range of beers and spirits. Bar meals served looked excellent.
Hotel has had exstensive updating and our room was excellent (room 9), with lots of space to move around.
Plenty of car parking space.
Staff very friendly with nothing to much trouble.
Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice.
Dining room is spacious with plenty of room around tables.
Would recommend hotel as a good base for touring around or overnite stays.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 overlook gardens and are quiet. Room 9 has plenty of space and is well furnished wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
20.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
365 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
20.0 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutwidge Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutwidge Arms Hotel

Address: Holmrook | A595, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmrook
Price Range: $99 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lutwidge Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lutwidge Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutwidge Arms Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing