We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable stay, would love to come back”
other travelers have booked this property
Review: 'We felt right at home the second we walked through door. It's so lovely we've been twice!'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Review: 'We felt right at home the second we walked through door. It's so lovely we've been twice!'
Review:'Absolute haven:wonderfully comfortable beds,luxurious bathroom, & loved wood burning stove! Our local, The Lutwidge Arms, is named for the Lutwidge family, aka Lewis Carroll's Uncle.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Review: 'We felt right at home the second we walked through door. It's so lovely we've been twice!'
Review:'Absolute haven:wonderfully comfortable beds,luxurious bathroom, & loved wood burning stove!
Our local, The Lutwidge Arms, is named for the Lutwidge family, aka Lewis Carroll's Uncle.
Holmrook Hall has a fascinating history from WWII (this photo is of the courtyard outside kitchen).
The Alice Bedroom which occupies the whole footprint of the cottage on the top floor...
View of the Wasdale Valley from the bottom of the garden...
Welcome to Volcano! (Its history and how it came by its name, is in our detailed Welcome Pack.)
Heron View bedroom, overlooking the back garden.
Review: 'Can't recommend it enough. Beautiful location, beautiful house and most comfortable beds!'
The Blue Room, overlooking the front courtyard.
Some of the configuration options for the 7th, 8th and 9th beds
Large, airy landing area.
The characterful farmhouse kitchen with cobbled floor, butler sink and stable door view of courtyard
View of the communal courtyard from the stable door in the kitchen
Review:'Cottage was fantastic - exactly the kind of unique experience that we love homestays for'
Fully equipped kitchen with everything needed to rustle up tea, toast or a roast!
Review: 'Outstanding; a little piece of heaven'
Living room with original cobbles and arched coach house doors onto garden
Board games and firewood - a dream combo!
Review: 'Enjoyed a glass of wine in the huge comfy chairs.'
Family bathroom with freestanding bath and rainshower
The view of Volcano from the back garden.
The garden in Spring (we can't guarantee it will always look this glorious in The Lakes though!)
Outside patio and seating area.
Our large back garden (Winter view!), well fenced for dogs and little ones.
The original arch from Holmrook Hall is still in place; although the Hall is no longer there
Review: 'Had lovely time at comfortable stylish cottage & enjoyed learning about its unique history'
Views from Wrynose Pass en route to Ambleside and Windermere (a 90 minute drive from Volcano)
The original Coach House (Volcano is the one with the external staircase)
Zebra crossing? Nope. SHEEP crossing: welcome to rush hour in Cumbria!
Wastwater - former winner of Britains Favourite View; (less than 10 minutes drive from Volcano.)
Drigg Beach (2 miles from cottage) - outstanding sunsets across the Irish Sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Holmrook, Seascale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jacquelin...
1 review
“Memorable stay, would love to come back”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great place to relax, lots of little decorative details which makes the house a home. The top room is absolutely beautiful. Felt very comfortable having dogs with us, good parking off street, nice comfy beds, just a great place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B
1 review
“Wonderful secluded escape - perfect for our young family”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Volcano was a fantastic retreat for us, our friends and our toddlers. The house is a real gem, quiet, warm, perfectly decorated with great period features, comfy beds and a great kitchen.

The location is ideally suited - great beaches, scenery and a miniature railway nearby that leads through the woods to country pubs and waterfalls.

Could not have asked for more from a week in the lakes! We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F10na64
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Volcano - a peaceful retreat”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Volcano. The house is beautifully decorated throughout, spacious, quiet and was an excellent getaway from London. Very grateful to Carl and Caroline as they had fixed a stair gate which was particularly useful with our 2 year old, and supplied ample tea and coffee (also very useful with a 2 yo!). The authentic channels in the floor downstairs added character to the house and our little one got used to them very quickly. The location was fantastic, and our hosts provided plenty of suggestions of things to do. The nearby railway, local beach (which was stunning), wastwater, and the neighbours chickens (neighbours and chickens were both lovely) also made this a perfect place for a family holiday. Would highly recommend. Thank you for a fantastic break, we'll be back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful property, stunning location
Liked least: Would have been nice to stay longer
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here for two nights as a base camp for a trip to Scaffel pike! Such a lovely home with lots of character and was so comfortable! If I had to criticise one thing maybe update the kitchen table as it seemed quite tired! Bedrooms, bathroom, garden and living room were to die for and that fire was immense!!

Will defo stay again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocinella...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great location and great weather!”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic stay at Volcano, Lovely little cottage, decorated nicely and plenty of room for 7 adults and a dog!
Caroline gave us all the details we needed and made sure we we comfortable. The location was perfect for Scafell Pike and many other main attractions in the lakes. Nice and quiet, off the road so no noise at all. Garden would be a great asset in the summer, we went in March whilst the weather was amazing we spent most of the time out and about. No WIFI or reception took some getting used to, but it is a holiday after all!

Thanks Caroline!
Lisa

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing