We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would recommend people to go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Santon Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed on 3 occasions and each time has been excellent! Food is fantastic and the selection of ales is good! Love that we can take our pooch too! Plus you meet some interesting characters. Very relaxing place!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atjh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 393 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed the one night in February, a charming place in a pleasant setting, we enjoyed an evening meal of salmon which was excellent and reasonably priced!!! I can highly recommend it. Our room was ideal for our needs and at a reasonable rate.
Breakfast very tasty set us up for the day and nothing is to much trouble for the staff.
many thanks.

Mr Mrs Bell

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

An attractive old pub in a beautiful location by the river. Only about 2 miles from 'Britain's Best View' at Wast water. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. We booked 2 nights on an incredibly good deal but normal rack rates are fairly average prices. To be fair to hotels, I normally try to book direct but on this occasion the prices quoted on the hotels own website were considerably higher than being offered on popular booking sites so there was a clear disincentive to do so. Our room was fairly small but clean, pleasant & well appointed. The bed was double sized and very comfortable. Bedroom walls seemed quite thin so noises from adjacent rooms and the corridor were quite excessive. We found the evening meals to be fairly average & a bit overpriced for what you got. Having said that the bar was full of people eating on both nights we stayed so, I guess, the food is appealing to a lot of people. The bar offered a good selection of real ales. All in all, The Bridge offered a pleasant short break & we'll certainly consider returning at some point.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Having eaten at the Bridge Inn last October, we decided to spend a long weekend at this lovely Inn. We booked Fri to Sun and arrived late on the Friday and were met with a warm welcome. Our room (20 king size non dog) was very spacious, spotlessly clean and with plenty of supplies. We were pleased with how quiet the room was despite it overlooking the road (our friends complained that their room (9) was noisy but we put that down to other inconsiderate guests). That said room 20 was better than room 9. The breakfast was included in the price and did not disappoint. Cereals, toast and a full English with lots of tea. The bar area is superb and we nabbed the table by the fire each evening and enjoyed the various guest ales and lovely wine. The evening meals were simply superb with the 4 of us trying something different each evening. I can recommend the strand and kidney pie. Delicious!! Would we return? You bet. Very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 are perhaps the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here in February (a rather cold and grey time in the Lakes by all accounts) but found the reception and rooms to be warm and welcoming at the Santon Bridge Inn. We went to celebrate a family members birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the food that was served in the function room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 4th year visiting and we were not disappointed. The Bridge Inn offers great service and good value for money. The rooms are clean and the bathroom spotless, the showers are fantastic with lots of hot water and really powerful.
The new owners are friendly and helpful and the food fantastic. The salads are amazing, try one!
Will be back again next winter for our trip to the western lakes, which remains quiet and unspoilt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyprus-Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived late due to snow, rain, floods etc....but within minutes of arriving we were booked in and given the key to our room. A very warm and comfortable room, overlooking the river. The room was very clean, with plenty of supplies of various teas, hot chocolate and coffees including a cafetiere and coffee to go with it! The bedding was of excellent quality and chocolates were placed on the towels on the bed. There was a flat screen tv with limited channels but hardly a problem as we don't go away to watch tv, the free wifi was more than a compensation for that. The bathroom was exceptionally clean, and my (well travelled) girlfriend said the shower was one of the best she had known in a hotel. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, help yourself to as much coffee and tea as you like, as well as cereals and orange juice. Then the full Lakeland breakfast, suberb! Sausage, beans, tomato, fried bread, thick bacon, mushrooms and the best black pudding ever!! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauls68uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
19.8 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
1,006 reviews
17 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santon Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santon Bridge Inn

Address: Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range: $62 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Santon Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Bridge Inn, once a modest mail coach’s halt, is now a fine, well-situated, comfortable country inn offering hospitality to all travelers and visitors being close to Wastwater (Britain’s favourite view) and Scafell. Well behaved dogs are also welcome. The Western Lakes and Fells are spectacular and here in this quiet valley there is still the peace and tranquility that should be Lakeland. There are still more sheep than people!!! Excellent "REAL" food, "REAL" Ales, Log Fires and a "reet good welcome." Standards of accommodation today's travelers expect. "Home from home for the tired business person and the weary fell walker." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Santon Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santon Bridge Hotel Holmrook
The Santon Bridge Inn Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing