We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Santon Bridge Inn
Nearby Hotels
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grove Court Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
$69
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St. Bees)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St. Bees)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
194
126
55
23
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
126
55
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday carverybar managerbeefselection of beerssanton bridgespecials boardsaladgreat foodlake districthomemade chipsbar areabiscuitsthe staff were friendly and helpfulboth nightslong weekendevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 417 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After a cold and wet day climbing up Scafell Pike (Saturday 8th December 2012) we booked in for one night with our friends. The rooms were very cosy with red hot powerful showers. Unfortunately one of our group really wanted a bath but rooms 1 & 2 showers only. Only by reading trip advisor on our return did we realise that some rooms did have baths (note for next time!). The choice of tea, coffee (cafetiere), hot chocolate, water and biscuits was great. We ate in the bar and the food was absolutely delicious. Cod and Chorizo fishcakes, Black pudding & Haggis stack for starters were amazing. Scampi, Lasagne, Monkfish and Steak with 'Real' chips for mains. Excellent. Atmosphere was great with Christmas tunes being played to get us in the mood... Breakfast was wonderful, a lovely start to the day. We all agreed we would stay here again to conquer the 'Scafell Massiff' on a much warmer day.

Room Tip: If a bath is required then ask in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We attended a 30th Party at Bridge Inn and had a great time. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by staff. Room was very clean, cosy and warm!!! It had everything that you needed. The bar had a super selection of beers, coupled by the log fire to dry the dog after a hard afternoon on the beach.Really nice atmosphere. Food was fantastic, the downside to this was that we didn't do justice to the delicious desserts. Great location and will be coming back with our walking boots. Love the idea of pre ordering sandwiches the night before you go out for a walk. Will be using that service next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A simply superb one-night break starting with a dinner with more than adequate choices. We began with a tasty starter comprising black pudding and haggis followed by the best steak and kidney pie we have ever eaten,with enough to satisfy even the hungriest hiker.The bedroom was spotless with little extras such as chocolates and a cafetiere with real coffee! We have visited 5 star hotels that did not meet these standards.The owners,Len and Veronica and their manager ,Diane ,could not have offered a warmer welcome.
Breakfast was of the same high standard with every choice available - we didn't eat again until the evening having fuelled up on their ''full English''.Without doubt ,one of the most relaxing ,friendly and enjoyable places we have visited. Set in one f the most stunning parts of Lakeland, you could not ask for a better experience. We will definitely return! Brian , Mo and family.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge for one of the King rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff are very frendly, rooms clean, breakfast very good.We ate both nights at the hotel and the food is first classwith a excellent selection,they also had a good choice of real ale.
If you wish a room with a bath ,ensure that you request when booking as there are limited available.
We look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed one night to watch the World's Biggest Liar competition sponsored by Jennings. A lovely pub bigger than it seems. Comfortable rooms, good food, great beers, welcoming hosts. Location is pretty and ideal for walking in and around Wasdale. Would definitely come again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munrosaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews