We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Shepherds View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shepherds View
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just could not fault this site if your plan is to do Scafell pike or visit Wasdale Head etc then this is ideally situated around 35 mins away, although do not discount the surrounding areas as there is plenty to do if bad weather puts your high hill walk plans on the back burner (as it did mine).

Seascale is walkable around 15 mins or 2 min drive and it has a well stocked reasonably priced shop (not sure why a reviewer said there were no nearby shops?).or you can turn right out the campsite then take a left down a public bridleway over the dunes to the beach then turn right (a much nicer way to the shop).

Facilities are immaculate and i'm glad the 'poor' reviewer stated no noise after 11pm was enforced, nothing worse than drunken loud talkers and thanks to them i will definitely 110% be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

my wife and i spent a week in cottage adapted for two people. it was fully equipped and cosy for us to enjoy. its location was superb for visiting all attractions in the lake district. it was very quiet and comfortable. the price was very reasonable that we decided to try again in near future. we tried the luxurious hot tub to ease our aching joints after a good day of visiting attractions around the lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damianschofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

For those of you who love simple but well equipped camping and caravan sites, Shepherds View is perfect. Well spaced hard standings for caravans or motor homes sit alongside level camping fields and both are supported by modern well maintained facilities.
The site is perfect for exploring the Wasdale/Eskdale side of the lakes, as well as the cumbrian coast line. The nearby beach at Drigg is stunning and, as the site is off the main road, cycling is an option whatever your fitness level. If you prefer, a 25 minute stroll will take you to the mainline train station.
If you need bars, swimming pools and onsite entertainment this is not the site for you; if beauty and tranquility appeal, look no further.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My Wife, mother and I stayed for three nights in Shepherds View's Dairymaids Cottage just the other side of Drigg off the A595 heading towards Seascale. We were welcomed by Julie & Stephen and shown to a spacious, well appointed and spotless two bedroom part of what appears to have been the original farmhouse dating from 1746. We wanted for nothing throughout our stay and would happily recommend the Dairymaids cottage to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LondonKiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holmrook hotels
1.5 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
154 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
3.6 mi away
Old Post Office Campsite
0 mi away
Irt Valley View B&B
Irt Valley View B&B
#4 of 5 in Holmrook
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds View

Address: Drigg, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Holmrook
Hotel Class:4 star — Shepherds View 4*
Also Known As:
Shepherds View Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing