We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Welcome and Good Cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Victoria Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Holmrook B&B and Inns
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Welcome and Good Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is our local pub and so I can't say anything about the accommodation. The welcome you get is friendly, they have a good choice of beers at the bar. The open fire is a great asset when the wind comes in from the sea. You may have to wait awhile for your meal as it is home cooked. We usually go for the cod and chips, as the fish is so fresh and beautifully cooked. Their fillet steak with all the trimmings is recommended too. For self caterers you can order fish and chips to take away and have a pint while waiting for it to be cooked. A lovely English pub with good pub food. You can't say fairer than that.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

A superb location within easy driving distance of the beach and many of the western lake beauty spots. The food served was fantastic and great value for money... worth returning just for the Barnsley Chops!
Rooms well appointed and comfortable. Ours had a great view looking towards Ravenglass overlooking Drigg station. The trains run nearby but there was no disturbance caused by this at all.
All the staff are very obliging and friendly. A well stocked bar, roaring fire and dog friendly what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: If you're a train fan choose 'Beatrice' Staff very flexible on preparation of food dishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernleyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at 'The Vic' staying along with other family members.
Cannot fault the place, staff obliging and friendly, rooms spotless and comfortable, food and beer delicious and good value for money. Excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyP283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived somewhat dishevelled after our car stuck in the mud up on the fells where we were informed that it had,nt stopped raining since March.We were given a warm welcome and ordered breakfast for the following day,only one egg was served so stipulate if you want more!The room was a bit cool since the thermostat is controlled by the temperature of the pub downstairs however a request to turn it up a bit rectified that.The is of a higher standard than the usual bar/bistro,if you are really starving order a large cod with the excellent homemade chips.The fish is local and very fresh I highly recommend it,the fillet steak is of good but not supreme quality,the large scampi are excellent if a little highly priced.All in all an excellent base for Wasdale,Eskdale and Hardknot Fort.

Room Tip: Go for a family room which are far more spacious than cosy standard rooms.The infrequent trains at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mochudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We often eat here for lunch. Good home cooked pub food. Staff are welcoming and the service good. The "pensioners lunch" deal at £4.50 is terrific value (slightly smaller portions) but the main menu is extensive plus a blackboard full of specials. Good value and always excellent quality.
Today the "pensioners" haddock and chips was generous and really good. My lamb shank was as god it gets.

Room Tip: We use this pub for its food so should be in restaurant section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotels website gives a genuine view of what they have to offer - good service.
http://www.thevicatdrigg.co.uk
We enjoyed our stay, the food was really good and the Hotel has a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie19660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just come back from a 3 day stay here, Greats hosts, Great food, Great rooms, Great homemade chips.

Made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived.

Great location, a ten min walk to the beach and you can catch views of the Isle of Man on a clear day, plenty of attractions nearby with steam railways, castles and the Hard Knott pass (15 mile) over the mountains to Windermere, we did a quick invasion to Scotland on one day and dropped down to see the Buddhist temple at Conishead priory on another.

Would stay again and will do on the way up to Scotland next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmrook
1.1 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
3.2 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.3 mi away
Calder House Hotel
Calder House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Seascale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Drigg, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Seascale > Holmrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is a family run country hotel with a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The hotel features six quality en-suite bedrooms all with digital flat-panel television and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is named after Queen Victoria and to keep the ‘royal theme’ each of our bedrooms are named after her children, Louise, Alice, Leopold, Beatrice, Edward and Alfred. Your hosts, Sandra and Peter Smith and all their staff look forward to welcoming you and will do their utmost to make your stay at the Victoria Hotel a most pleasurable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Holmrook, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing