We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real corsican hospitality”
Review of A Stalla d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stalla d'Or
Ranked #1 of 5 Oletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked 1 night in this place, they have 2 rooms aside of the house, a bit dark (only a door, no windows, luckily at night there is AC), very nice garden (where the owner Thierry, as he claims, spends too much time in), Irma, the lady of the house, is very nice, always concerned if we're ok , we did manage to spend some time in the pool, which is not easy, because upon arrival we got a drink and had a nice chat, before going out to eat, we had an apero together with some friends of them and next morning during the great breakfast (although a fresh juice would be nice..) again we didn't have time on our own. They are great people and want to tell you a lot about Corsica and other things, opinions, etc. but ... if you would like to have some time on your own, that might be a challenge.. shame that they want to sell the place, they might miss it....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

We decided to spend a few days in Corsica between the end of August and the beginning of September and chose to stay in the vicinity of Saint Florent, in order to visit the Cape Corse.
We found this bed and breakfast that had availability and chose it despite of the fact we thought that EUR 150 B&B was a bit overpriced for us.
Today I can tell I was very happy to pay that money because the place is worth every penny.
First of all: Saint-Florent is very crowded and being a little bit on the hill was a good idea.
Second, the place is amazing!
For a start, Irma and Thierry are excellent hosts: Irma is a very nice person that spends every moment of her day to improve their magnificent house and grounds: the garden is spotless; the swimming pool just perfect, the terrace where breakfast is served is the place where you could spend the whole day…
Our room was decent sized and Thierry and Irma allowed us to carry our own bed for our 3 year old boy, so overall it seemed a bit smaller, but without the little bed it was more than enough and very tastefully furnished. After a few experiences of B&B with “hamac style beds” we were happy to sleep on a first class mattress and really rest.
If anything the room was a bit dark but I think this is in the respect of the refurbished stables and country house.
Now, the breakfast was like nothing we had experienced before: different every single day with products of the island, fresh fruits and vegetables, very generous portions, cooked while we were sipping our tea with plenty of viennoiseries and home made jams... We were just blessed!
Mme Irma’s birthday came when we were there and one night, when we arrived at our B&B, we were invited to join the friends and relatives who came to celebrate and spent a very nice moment talking to Corsicans about Corsica: I could not have asked for more, because that gave us a better idea of the place, the personality and the generosity of the island and its people.
The landlords suggested us a couple of good restaurants but on the 4th night, since we did not want to go back to the same places and they did not want to recommend places where they would not go themselves, Thierry offered to cook for us. Now, this was just AMAZING! Everything was fresh, perfectly cooked, very well presented and we were 20 metres from our room: the best meal I had in my 3 week holyday between Tuscany and Corsica…which tells a lot!
We learnt that the landlords together with their friends can also organize à la carte programs like boat trips to visit the magnificent beaches of that part of the island: we will certainly think about using this facility another time.
I was very sorry to leave A STALLA D’ORO and would be more than happy to go back… today!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank philgach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 715michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lougrail82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Judepomme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oletta
0.2 mi away
U Palazzu Serenu
U Palazzu Serenu
#1 of 2 in Oletta
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Dimora
La Dimora
#2 of 2 in Oletta
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Tettola
Hotel Tettola
#4 of 13 in Saint Florent
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Demeure Loredana
Demeure Loredana
#1 of 13 in Saint Florent
287 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ostella
Hotel Ostella
#1 of 23 in Bastia
405 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Roya
La Roya
#3 of 13 in Saint Florent
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stalla d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stalla d'Or

Address: Route d'Oletta, 20232 Oletta, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Oletta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oletta
Price Range: $151 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Stalla d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Stalla D'Or Corsica/Oletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing