We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal”
Review of U Palazzu Serenu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
U Palazzu Serenu
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oletta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate at U Palazzu on our last night in Oletta. It was an amazing experience, the place was white and filled with works of art. The food was absolutely xcellent, my husband thought the best he had had anywhere - let alone Corsica. The only downside was that there was no parking at the restaurant, though there is parking nearby. Also it is not very easy to find ad we were glad we had located it in daylight.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank frogham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

small gem in the hills. All tastefully renovated with amazing art everywhere. The pool and grounds are small but on the other hand it feels like a private villa. My only complaint with the room was that there was only a tub and no shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Location is beautiful but pictures are all a bit deceiving, the view is open (and beautiful) only from the upper floors and from the outside dining corner, the hotel is situated in a cramped location. The whole garden is just the area between the hotel and the dining area, just the space for three large trees, no more than that, so the green area you see in the pictures makes the whole garden, behind the hotel there is the hill and on the side and behind there is the main road.
However I really enjoyed staying there as initial part of my vacation after a year of stressing work; the location, the absolute silence, the atmosphere and sense of isolation granted total relaxation, the minimalist (maybe closer to austere) decor induced peace of mind. I do love white color and minimalist ambiance, but to really nitpick, this hotel tends to soulless, rehab-style atmosphere.
I would have liked glass cups instead of plastic ones in the bath and slippers as well (the white resin floor was not very comfortable nor the cleanest to walk without shoes).
The swimming pool looks like is really there more for aesthetics than for really using it; it is most of the time exposed to shadow and quite narrow.
Breakfast was excellent; having breakfast in the terrace in the morning was total bliss. The five course dinner was excellent. The personnel were very helpful and caring.
However, our room was situated on the ground floor so that the windows look to the wall separating the hotel from the main road, The worse thing is that there are two adjacent rooms with entrance from the same side, so that the guests in the room next to us had to walk in front of our room windows to reach theirs, so that we had to keep the blind shut for privacy, I would have expected different pricing for such a room.
The room had a small outside deck with table and chair with white pillows, all quite dirty (it is because it is staying outside with falling leaves it gets dirty easily, however I would expect someone to clean it regularly, we could not use the chairs as they were and really did not provide a nice sight).
There is no parking except a public one, very close however from the hotel entrance (need to walk 30 meters on the road without curbside with the luggage to reach the hotel from the parking, not the best). Overall, good but we cannot rate more considering the price/flaws ratio fro a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You can find some nice hotels in Corsica, but with a correct price, beautiful house (old local palace), good restaurant with quite atmosphere and also selected products, nice view on the county and the sea : they have the "Plus" that other don't have.

Room Tip: The room Orizonte (large) / or Giardino with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurentM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent 10 days at U Palazzu Serenu & it was just perfect. The hotel is more like a large house than a hotel, so it feels intimate & relaxed. Beautiful decor, stylish & contemporary, and the best service from people who genuinely care that you are having a wonderful holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a perfect holiday for us & would highly recommend it.

Room Tip:  Orizonte - large room with lots of windows & fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen73440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Flying in from Paris in the early evening, we got lost on our way up the mountain, so we were thrilled to arrive at U Palazzu Serenu. We were warmly greeted at reception and shown to our large and modernly beautiful room, perfect for our family of 3. We were hungry and ready for dinner which was a delicious meal served in a dining room that had been thoughtfully decorated with contemporary art and comfortable modern furniture. Exhausted from the trip, we returned to our room which was very comfortable and quite accommodating for the three of us. The windows looked out on the mountains and small village. The bathroom was huge and outfitted with excellent bath products. The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to walk and what to see. We did not use the spa services or the swimming pool which was inviting but we didn't have time. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My familly and I went away for the WE to relax and spend some time together. We could not have chosen a better place. U Palazzu Serenu is a little paradise on earth. the hotel is beautifull, modern and warm at the same time, the rooms are huge. We stayed in a suite that was at least 550 square feet! Large bathrooms with a big bath, seperate living room and a very big bed that was so comfortable...
The hotel is in a small charming village called Oletta, a ten minute drive to the beach. It has an incredible view on the whole bay of St Florent. The sunset is worth seeing... The pool is great because it is vey long and therefore you can really swim...
There is both an indoor and outdoor restaurant with a superb chef! there is a delicious five course menu with only truffles and at the same time a local Corsican menu witch allows you to taste the local produce.
The staff was very nice and helpfull, they gave us very good advice on things to do and see in the area.
Thank you again, we are sure to come back

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oletta
20.2 mi away
Hotel A Piattatella
Hotel A Piattatella
#1 of 3 in Monticello
363 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
483 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
#3 of 23 in Bastia
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Castel Brando
Hotel Castel Brando
#1 of 1 in Brando
593 reviews
86.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
447 reviews
84 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Palazzu Serenu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Palazzu Serenu

Address: quartier Paganacce, 20232 Oletta, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Oletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oletta
Price Range: $222 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Palazzu Serenu 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise only 90 minutes from Paris.Located at the foot of a the stunning village of Oletta, which dominates the Mounts of Nebbiu and the Gulf of Saint Florent.U Palazzu Serenu is a Florentine-inspirez palace of the XVIi century, completely redesigned by the interior designer Nathalie Battesti who studied under Andrée Putman and Christian Liaigre, and modernized to meet the demands of comfort and sophistication of today's 4 stars hotel, this prestigious residence offer just 6 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your U Palazzu Serenu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U Palazzu Serenu Corsica/Oletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing